We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Sunday lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant Bar & Grill

The Restaurant Bar & Grill
The Old Post Office, 3 City Square, Leeds LS1 2AN, England
0113 244 9625
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 1,446 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $22 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the old Post Office building landmark, in the heart of City Square, The Restaurant Bar and Grill in Leeds presents an impressive setting to enjoy brunch, lunch, dinner or a private party. Welcoming diners every day, the open kitchen, with a wood stone oven and rotisserie, invites you to watch the chefs at work, whilst emphasising the casual and comfortable atmosphere of the restaurant. Dine at the raised mezzo sharing table, in the comfortable booth seating or from the counters at the kitchen itself. During the summer months al fresco dining is also available in the square, perfect for people watching whilst making your choice of dishes from the eclectic menu. Before or after your meal, you can also relax in the stylish surroundings of the grand cocktail bar, where the charismatic team can serve you a range of drinks from a Mojito to a Sapphire Cosmopolitan.
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Late Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a pleasant meal, nothing outstanding and we thought over priced. No one asked us if "everything was ok", so good job it was! Waited nearly half an hour for dessert menu then had to ask for them to take our order. Apparently waitress has gone off her shift and left us to it after giving us dessert menu.

Wont be going back in a hurry, if ever

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    169
    92
    53
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Last time I ate at Bar & Grill was for a business lunch and I had an excellent service, perfectly cooked steak with bearnaise sauce. It was fairly busy but not too noisy and I didn't wait long at all for having the food served.

Perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I met five friends at the bar. We weren't rushed. Had a lovely lunch washed down with plenty of fizz.
Good service, lovely food. One of my favourite places to eat out in Leeds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Felt rushed and forced out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After going for a meal last night for a friends 21st birthday, with a table of 20. All but 2 arrived on time but we felt rushed into ordering so we placed our orders before the final two arrived, when they got there they order there food immediately, they took our initial drinks orders but did not return to check if we needed anymore drinks- lots of empty glasses. Despite there being lots of waiting staff crowded around the till area. Our food came out nearly all at the same time which was fine but there was a lot of confusion with it being a big table and a waiter got very confrontational when one of the girls explained to him that the food in his hand wasn't for her (she already had her meal Infront of her) the chips sides were the most minuscule position of chips I have ever seen and for nearly £4 they were nothing special. The food was fine but not note worthy in any case and certainly not value for money. Most of us only got served one drink because the staff were in no way attentive. We were not offered any deserts or coffees and after our plates were cleared the bill was slammed immediately down. With a 10% service charge- we asked for this charge to be removed as we received no good service and felt hurried out of the door, this was met with lots of hostility! Definitely will not be returning and would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food, awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Thank god we had the lunch menu so we didnt have to pay full price for this awful place. We went for my grandmas 75th birthday so it was nice occasion and they just treated us awfully. took away all knifes and forks before having to give them back, an awkward and pointless task, food was average but nowhere near the stanadard I expected from such a high class place. When we ordered to coffee to go with puddings it didnt even arrive after 20 minuites so we cancelled, its coffee?! I was really let down by this and there are much nicer places in Leeds.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Restaurant Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.