We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeds 17

Leeds 17
Nursery Lane | Alwoodley, Leeds LS17 7HW, England
0113-266 2594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 1,306 restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A quality great value meal well presented and served by attentive staff. Over 2 nights 4 golfers sampled 8 starters and 8 mains. All were good to excellent quality. They were not pretentious or ridiculously small. The £15.50 deal for starter, main and 1/2 bottle of house wine is great value. The red wine was v drinkable and white was very acceptable. The menu has a good choice of both starters and mains with good vegetarian options. Dessert and coffees are available at extra cost but warm bread and butter and a virgin olive oil and balsamic dip was delivered to our table with the offer of water as an appetiser. I believe the place to be under new management and he was effective and attentive without being overly obtrusive. The waitresses were a delight.

Bottom line is this restaurant is worth visiting and represents tremendous value for money and if these standards are maintained the team deserve to be successful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    39
    14
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

17 of us booked a 50th birthday celebration meal (i went here 5 years ago and said i would never return, but i had been informed that it had changed managers etc and was told to give-it-another-go). we went on thurs 19th sept as there is an offer for £15.50(mon to fri evening) for a starter and main course AND half a bottle of wine pp (bottle of wine is a little over £13 alone) some main courses do carry a further charge of £1 , but depends what you choose. i had black pud on pork for starters hubby had mushroom soup both dishes were fab. Main course i had steak, hubby had kangeroo for the first time, i wish i had chosen this, it was like a piece of best ever fillet steak and i can honestly say i would be back for the kangeroo alone.The food arrived nice and hot.
The two girl who waited on us were fantastic, nothing was a bother to them, polite and helpful at all times (think names were karen and kat ?) they were the only two staff on that night and the restaurant was pretty busy but it did not phase them, "well done ladies". the rest of our party had a really good time and not one of them found any thing to complain/whinge about.
The place is clean and tidy, toilets were spotless, bar area was contemporary and cozy.
As we were the last to leave (as always with our family gatherings), we got chance to meet the chef, what a lovely chap (soz didnt get his name) . Thanks again LS17. you have not seen the back of us, we will all return, thanks staff for making my sisinlaws birthday go with a bang. Brilliant.

Visited S

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meal deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went mid week for the meal deal £15 pp plus half a bottle of wine pp , my wife had the mussel starter and calves liver mains, and I had the mullet starter and ribeye mains, all cooked to perfection , the wine was excellent, all in all a very quality meal at a fair price,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great bar and vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Perfect for grabbing a pint after work with colleagues or pals. Brilliant concept and good staff with some fantastic bottled beers. Don't think they do food?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
2 reviews
“Quiet and good value .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have eaten here e few times now and never had a bad meal.. The restaurant has been quiet each time we have gone but that suited our needs. Food well prepared, well presented and the staff are attentive. Well priced as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeds 17 also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Leeds 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeds 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.