We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“people watching from st tropez to north leeds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlo Flying Pizza

San Carlo Flying Pizza
60a Street Lane, Leeds LS8 2DQ, England (Formerly Flying Pizza)
+44 (0)113 266 6501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #447 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $59 - $59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: All San Carlo restaurants create food of the highest quality, but each restaurant displays its own unique style in food due to the individuality of our creative chefs and management. San Carlo are proud to be able to provide the true essence of authentic Italian food in contemporary surroundings.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“people watching from st tropez to north leeds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

have not used ths highly popoular dining spot for over 30 years but it has not changed the ambiance despite the new owners if you want a highly atmospheric restaurant with a good varied (not cheap) but to be honest not as expensive as i thought menu wines however are overpriced especially by the glass this is definatly the place to be smartly dresses men and women plenty of amani shirts and low back dresses not a female tatoo in sight a great spot for peolpe watching
the table we got seemed to be squashed in between to parties not too good we were not too botherd but the other members of our party were so spoiled the evening a little as i said food /service /is good wines and drinks do increase the bill substantially however the alfresco section looked good unfortunatly even due to climate change accross the globe there are very few nights in north leeds warm enough to eat outside although a great touch during the summer days for a spot of lunch
overall loads of atmosphere/food ok /service ok but if you are looking for a intimate evenings dining not for you
we will be back but maybe avoiding the saturday night crush
straw bear

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    74
    55
    49
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bad waiter, bad review.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a very lax waiter, seemed disinterested throughout serving us, but was more than happy to serve the large group who came in after us. The food was nice enough though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My Italian Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Living 5 minutes away from San Carlo Flying Pizza we've been for lunch and dinner countless times. Despite this, it always feels like a real treat as the décor and ambience is luxury and sumptuousness. The bar is always buzzing and draws you in for a pre-dinner glass of fizz and the restaurant is packed with boisterous laughter and chatter coming from groups of all shapes and sizes. The Manager, Salvatore Cataldi, is always ready with a warm welcome and a good wine recommendation. I can honestly say I have never had a bad meal - the food is always fresh and delicious and the wine always chilled. I'd recommend the Lobster Ravioli with Crab Sassi....divine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was the first visit to this Restaurant and will not be the last when we are in Leeds! The food and the staff were excellent. The menu was extensive and made it very difficult to choose a dish. The scallops were delicious and with three Risottos to choose from it was very difficult. However, the Risotto Cardinale was to die for, followed by a tiramisu and a coffee. Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. Very attentive and friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“So what !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

For all sorts of reasons we have not frequented the old FP since the change in ownership and because of the long time between drinks we were all looking forward to dinner.

As ever no parking space at the front of the restaurant but this time because of the outdoor furniture and not the large shiny German and Italian motorcars! Climate change in North Leeds clearly dictates the staggering demand for al fresco dining.

Someone has moved the bar and also bought some new chairs but the indigenous materials of the fixtures and fittings still abound if rearranged slightly. No doubt at great expense.

The menu and wine list was much like any other except for the prices and one wonders who if anyone parts with such eye watering amounts of money for Barolo no matter what year. Being creatures of habit we tried to recreate the old days with our order with many of the old favourites featured and the general view at the end was "not just as good as it used to be". Many would agree the FP was never about an outstanding food experience and alright it was pretty busy and there was a buzz but I really preferred the old prices and the girls definitely preferred the old chocolate mousse.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo Flying Pizza also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to San Carlo Flying Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlo Flying Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.