We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food - worth a splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sous le Nez en Ville

Sous le Nez en Ville
The Basement, Quebec House, Quebec Street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
+44 113 244 0108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Superb food - worth a splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Lovely food - excellent for a special treat. Don't get the table by the bar though unless you are very small and slim!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    102
    35
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Been loads of times and will go loads more - the best restaurant in Leeds?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Old favourite. Great food, fantastic service, a huge wine list, brilliant atmosphere. I will never run out of good things to say about this place.

Sous le Nez manages to straddle the property, legal, financial boys and girls in the day and cater for couples and groups later on. Regardless of who you are with and why you are there, the standards never slip and the service is always fantastic, friendly, warm and welcoming.

Best steaks in the city centre mixed with some great traditional French dishes and the odd quirky special thrown in for good measure. As for the wine - turn up and see for yourself, I could go on all day.

Located in the basement, time slips by very easily and the interior design and lighting makes for a really cosy, private atmosphere when you get to your table / booth. The bar area has a great buzz on Friday lunchtime when the business set are in.

Please go and see for yourself - other restaurants around Leeds should take note.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Alluring and accomplished meal. A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I have walked past this quirky basement for over a year and after passing it one evening, it was immediately evident that the restaurant had accumulated a strong group of regulars over the years.

The kitchen met our highest expectations on our first visit (the restaurant was fully booked). The French waiter greeted me like an old friend and was affectionate in the restaurant's seasonal offerings. Its seared pigeon breast had the right consistency and retained its original flavour; the oxtail and beef cheeks melted in the mouth and the sommelier was wine-cognizant.

Menu Du Soir is good value for money, which offers a three-course meal and a half bottle of wine at £24.95 per diner.

Sous le Nez en Ville is now a new favourite of mine and I would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Never let me down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Been going to this place for more years than I care to think about. I have never had a bad meal ok some where better than others but that was probably down to my choice trying something different. The style and service hits just the right note not too over the top but attentive and polite.
We love the early bird price and how close it is to the railway station

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Visited with 11 friends on Saturday night. We had the early bird a set meal 3 courses and wine for £24.99. Lots to choose from, all the food was beautiful especially the steak and the stick toffee pudding was to die for.
I will deffinately be returning.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sous le Nez en Ville also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sous le Nez en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sous le Nez en Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.