We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and gluten free friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salvo's

Salvo's
115 Otley Road | Headingley, Leeds LS6 3PX, England
(0113) 275 5017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and gluten free friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

In Leeds for the day, and picked this as it was near to where we were and had a gluten free menu. We were not disappointed, good choice, friendly staff, and most importantly good food, at reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    142
    61
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I'm Sure I'll Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We went to Salvo's for a mid-week Italian meal. Because it was mid-week, there was no problem getting a table, although the place was still pretty busy and lively.

The food, although quite expensive for Italian food was great. Although the pizzas and pastas were around £10, so it's not overpriced. And it was nice to be able to have Italian food that was a little above and beyond the usual Italian faire. And the service was prompt and attentive and kept us fed and watered.

A very pleasant evening.and I'm sure I'll return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Fabulous"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just got back from this wonderful restaurant. Been several time sin the past, and it never fails to impress.

Went for a leisurly lunch with friends, had Mussels to start with, Lasagne for Main, and Panacotta for dessert - all very tasty and well presented, and ample portion sizes.

Restaurant was very quiet, and the service was attentive, friendly and timely. ` we were well looked after, and the waitress must have overheard us chatting, and presented me with a birthday treat for dessert - very thoughtful indeed, and made us all smile.

You will be hard pressed to find a better restaurant - it fits the bill for all occasions

Thanks for a memorable and gorgeous lunch

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“wow !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Excellent food and service. Recommended to us, we were lucky to get in at short notice. Lovely atmosphere and very good service. Will definitely return next time we are in Leeds !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Back to it's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Salvos used to be a regular favourite of mine until they did the refurb. We went once afterwards and thought it over priced and very pretentious - it had lost it's family Italian feel. My cousin mentioned she went the other week and said it had been really good so we went back last night - so glad we did. You can now book online which is a luxury you couldn't do before so a good start! There were 3 menus to choose from - the a la carte, the specials and also the Sunday offer - £17.50 for 3 courses. My husband had the offer - the flat bread and the sea bream - both he said were wonderful. I had the crostini misti - from the nibbles section because I usually out face my self on the starter! It was perfect, perfect size and delicious. My main course was the tagliatelle al ragu which was amazing. I finished off with hubby's desert - a gorgeous meringue creation. He had a liqueur coffee and with 2 beers and a bottle of wine the bill was £63 excluding service. The atmosphere grew nicely as the place filled up, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvo's also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Salvo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.