We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful chateaubriand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Forty Four

Brasserie Forty Four
44 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England (The Calls)
+44 113 234 3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Calls
Description: Bright, chic Brasserie Forty 4 is an informal waterfront restaurant in the vibrant Calls area of central Leeds. Under the beamed ceiling, a contemporary cream and wood interior with a lively mix of business and casual diners adds to the cosmopolitan buzz. An attractive bistro-style menu has soaked up plenty of Mediterranean flavour, while an early bird option offers set courses for those who want to eat and run.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful chateaubriand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As a treat my girlfriend bought a Groupon voucher for Chateaubriand, that most wonderful of cuts from the thick end of a fillet steak.

Brasserie Forty 4 is a lovely restaurant, lots of well spaced tables, good decor, sweet little bar in the reception.

Passing the option of a pre dinner drink we were shown to our table and menus promtly provided. My girlfriend had pate and I had corned beef hash balls, both were very quick in arriving and tasted lovely, accompanied by a smashing Pinot Noir.

When our main course arrived we were delighted, just because it was a Groupon deal didn't mean that the Brasserie skimped at all, The chateaubriand was cooked rare and to perfection, served with peppercorn sauce and a bowl of crunch, fluffy, super tasty chips it was an absolute delight.

Too full for desert, but determined to visit again very soon. I cannot praise Brasserie Forty 4 enough, the setting, food and service are all top rate.

Just go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    92
    39
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Chateaubriand. It's pretty much the reason meat eaters eat meat. So when I spotted a Groupon deal for the above I was pretty excited. Chateaubriand is a real treat, so to offer a deal on it intrigued me.....this sounded like an excellent gesture true to the very heart of Groupon: 'come to us specifically have something you may otherwise not order and let us win your love.'

Bravo and yes I jolly well will.

Amazingly I've never made it into Brasserie Forty 4 in my time in Leeds, I guess I've falsely assumed it was going to be cripplingly expensive and for that I feel like a fool- a simple glance at the menu would instantly have dispelled that myth. Starters for an average of £5-10 mains from £12- 17 and deserts around £5 compare with massive favour to other dining choices and I would argue that for the quality you would struggle to do better.

A set menu with 3 courses and a bottle of wine for £23.95 (7pm latest booking) is surely worthy of repeat investigation. Let me just repeat that......3 courses AND a bottle of wine. Superb.

First to the location, right on The Calls over the river and the venue is beautiful. Exposed brickwork, warm candle lit atmosphere, intimate, fresh but welcoming and perfect service. I was immediately charmed.

My starter of chicken liver parfait is my absolute favourite and Brasserie Forty 4 transported me with their offering. It was rich, creamy and the iron finish was sublime. Adrian had some quirky little Spam meatballs, I know that sounds strange but it was an adventurous and daring little dish that brought a broad smile to both our faces.

The chateaubriand was pretty much the flesh of a god. Four thick slices of tenderloin served with an excellent peppercorn sauce and chunky chips. There was only one portion of chips in the deal and I thought we may end up ordering another, but for us it was quite enough. The chips were crisp outside, fluffy inside and the whole combination of perfect chips plus the super soft rare meat and the creamy sauce was utter food porn on the tongue.

For drinks we had a bottle of pinot noir (around £22 if I recall) which was very enjoyable, a delicious accompaniment to the beef.

We were too full for puddings but were treated to a little glass of nectar like rum, which topped off the evening to perfection.

At no point did I feel like a voucher leper. This was what is should be, a tempting little deal to bring in new customers that absolutely hit the spot. We were made to feel special and valued from the off. This is how you get repeat business, this is how you get a big tip, this is why I come back, this is the reason I will tell all my friends about you.

Well done Brasserie Forty 4, you are absolutely on the map.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Surprise 40th Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I recently planned a private meal for 20 people as a surprise for my Husband's 40th Birthday in January.
The service was fantastic, the staff were polite, helpful and unobtrusive. The food was excellent with everyone commenting on how delicious their meals were. The beauty was, we didn't have to order in advance like alot of other restaurants I enquired with and there were 5 choices for each course meaning there was something to suit everyone's tastes.
We hadn't eaten there before so it was a bit of a chance taken on the reviews I had read but I am so glad we opted for Brasserie Forty 4 as they far surpassed my expectations and helped make a really special occasion incredibly memorable. Will definitely be returning, in fact we have just booked for this evening, 1 week after the event!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a meal last Friday and the beef was the best my husband and I had ever had in a restaurant.

The staff deserve a credit for service and attention to detail. Very friendly atmosphere.
Would recommend a visit.

The Briggs'

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Wine dinner - outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have been visiting Brasserie Forty four for a few years now and have never been disappointed. On Friday we attended one of their regular wine meal and both the food and wine were outstanding. We were greeted with a Malbec Rose and sat down to cod with a beautiful sauce, an gorgeous duck confit terrine and then a most tender and delicious roast rib of Yorkshire beef. It just melted in the mouth and was one of the best pieces of beef I have ever had. It was accompanied by mouthwatering Chakana Argentinian wines which matched the food to perfection. Cheeses followed and coffee and home made chocolates finished of the perfect meal.

The service lead by Vince was as good as ever and served with precision and style. Thanks to Steve and guest wine expect Sophie. We had a perfect evening..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Forty Four also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Brasserie Forty Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Forty Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.