We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Leeds Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Leeds Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Leeds Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crown Point Road | 2 The Gateway North, Leeds LS9 8BZ, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Leeds Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Cheap, modern, clean and friendly staff!

Stayed over Thursday - Saturday. Didnt want to pay too much and for £48 for 2 nights this was perfect. Was a little bit worried after reading the reviews about the smells but work had already began on this and we had no problems and we were on floor 9!

The rooms were very basic, modern and clean.

Only fault i picked out and this is been really picky is more pillows,

Cant wait to come back to Leeds in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KButtery, General Manager at Ibis Budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, they are appreciated. My team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds. Please do not hesitate to contact the reception which is open 24hrs, if you require anything during your stay. Kind Regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    244
    113
    61
    46
See reviews for
59
146
88
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

well what can i say i was surprised with the rooms nice n modern then what it was like before
as i would never off stayed again if still remained like that looks more like a hotel and not a run down hostel !!!!!!!
still basic but nice rooms and tv and ensuite !!!!!!!!!!!good check in times and checking out
and we paid a good price £25.00
again i noticed a smell as work ongoing not really impressed with that as that should be advised on check in and on website which if someone can show me that from management i would like to know but too late once you in lift.
i would stay again but i will be expecting a less pongy room !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms the same !!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KButtery, General Manager at Ibis Budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about smell. I am very sorry that the signs were not visible, but we had placed them at the reception, by the lift and in the lift. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Good hotel - clean, well presented, convenient location - but with drawbacks. The staff weren't very well informed about how to find several of the places I wanted to visit. Also lacked a free wifi connection - I know it's a cheap hotel, but all the hostels I've stayed at thus far have free wifi, and they're much cheaper. On the plus side, they don't charge to hold onto your luggage if you need to leave it there after checking out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KButtery, General Manager at Ibis Budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds, Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Recently stayed here with my partner for a cheap mid-week break in Leeds. Rooms were basic but comfortable and everything was clean. Rooms were nicely decorated and modern. Don't expect anything amazing but it's definitely good value for money and the cheapest hotel we could find in Leeds that didn't look like a dump. I also loved that check-in/out was 12pm-12pm at no extra charge (unlike travelodge etc) so we had the whole day when we got there and were able to have a lie in after a night out. My only negative point is there is no cheap nearby parking, although it's like this for most hotels in Leeds centre. The hotel do offer a discounted rate at Town Centre Car Parks (about 33p an hour) if you get your ticket validated at the hotel but the nearest one is about half a mile away. Also, I don't know if I'd like to share a room there with some one I wasn't 100% comfortable with as the shower is in the bedroom with only a frosted door protecting your modesty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KButtery, General Manager at Ibis Budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Leeds. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds. We are trying to get best possible deal for our guests with the car park nearby to the hotel. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I must say taht I would have rated this hotel as excellent if they had inroom tea and coffee making faciliities. That was the only thing that let it down for us. Basic clean comfortable accommodation in the heart of the city. I stayed here recently with a workmate of mine when we came down to cheer on his favourate football team as a belated 25th birthday present. Having read the reviews i was expecxting the worse and expecting the hotel to be really noisy though that was not the case at all, we found it very quiet and to be fair had a decent nights Kip. Though I would also add we were staying on a weekday night when its probably mainly business travellers who are in occupancy and also our room was overlooking some modern appartment block thoughwindows seemed prtty well glazed. It may be a very different scene at a weekend if you have a young party crowd in but I can only speak based on my own experience. rooms were compact but bright and fresh small desk, wall mounted tv with decent channel selection only downside no inroom kettle! id happily pay extra for that basic facility! The shower was pretty powerful but word of warning if ya doing a roomshare here make sure ya a couple of know ya roommate really well ,as you aint goinna have much privacy. Initially a bit freaked out that the shower was just a kind of cubicle where the shower door opened straight into the bedroom. Rooms were a bit on the hot side so.being blokes we obviously slept with nothing on anyway so seeing each other with our kit off was no particular big deal but this could be a major issue for ladies or people who dont know each other very well in which case for the sake of an extra £18 you may be better getting ya own room if you want to shower in private!. Reception area had drinks and snacks available. The hotel also does the typical ibis continental breakfast, pretty cheap at just over a couple of quid so you cant really go wrong. Its a modern highrise that clean, comfy and quiet in the heart of Leeds so for £9 each a night what more can you expect. rooms were a bit on the hot side.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from main road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KButtery, General Manager at Ibis Budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Leeds. We hope that your friend was delighted with his present. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here with two friends. The top bunk bed wasn't made and there were only two towels despite having booked a couple of weeks ahead specifying 3 persons. There was also a bad smell coming from the shower that did not go away. I have stayed in Ibis budget hotels before where free wifi is available, but here you have to pay for 2 hours worth. the location and price was good enough, but if you want better service and comfort this is definitely not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would have less street noise, as the hotel is located on a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KButtery, General Manager at Ibis Budget Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds. We have noted your comments about bad smell, which we have since addressed. The hotel is in process of installing Wifi throughout the building.
As a brand standard, at Ibis Budget hotel, we do not prepare the bunk beds, but provide with the linen in all triple bedrooms and supply with 2 towels per room. If guests requires more towels, they are available from the reception which is open 24hrs.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Ibis Budget hotel in Leeds, Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Leeds Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Leeds Centre

Address: Crown Point Road | 2 The Gateway North, Leeds LS9 8BZ, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Leeds Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Leeds Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Leeds - the smart traveller's choice! Our modern, comfortable room can accommodate up to 3 people, with a power shower, toilet, flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, all for a very low price. Accessible rooms available. Pets welcome at a charge. Public Paying Car Park nearby.Air cooling system - 24/7 reception, 24/7 Hot and Cold Snacks and Drinks. All you can eat cold buffet breakfast at £4.95 per person! Buffet breakfast consists of croissants, toast, cereals, ham, preserves, cheese, fruit, hot drinks, fruit juices and yogurt.Please ensure you have valid identification (e.g photo driving license or passport) when paying by cash. "To stay in this hotel, you must be above the age of 18 or accompanied by a parent or guardian" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Budget Leeds Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Leeds
Etap Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Leeds Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.