We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I just stayed here, got a good deal £125 for 3 nights including complimentary breakfast. At first it seemed a way out of the centre but it is an easy pleasant walk. Staff were very helpful when I asked for advice, room was clean and it was remarkably quiet considering that there were several stag and hen parties staying there. Lots to see and do in and around Leeds (3 days was not long enough), we travelled by train (would recomend a taxi from the station with luggage) and visited Saltaire, by train whilst we were there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    202
    140
    51
    27
See reviews for
62
135
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Staff no nice...no smile...woman from reception always up sad!!! housekeeping supervisor don,t speaking english correctly!!!
VERY POOR QUALITY!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

In truth, I picked this hotel based mainly on the fact that it still offered smoking rooms. For the record these seemed to be located on the top floor, well away from the normal folks. Another bonus of this is that you don't have large groups of people hanging at the entrance making noise all night. I also wanted a reputable chain so I knew what I was getting. When you're picking a hotel NOT for pleasure purposes, I find it a lot less stressful if you can rely on a basic standard.
Arrived at 11pm after a massive drive and found the staff super helpful when presented with my dazed and overly jaded self . Room was of a high standard of cleanliness and was cleaned to the same standard each day. Decaff coffee included in the tea making facilities (always a bonus for me). Really comfy bedding and slept perfectly each night. A slight bit of door banging from the foot traffic in the hallway outside but not enough of an issue to fuss about. Breakfast was pretty basic but that's to be expected. If you're a veggie like me then you'll be ok.
Good location despite the approach roads which seem to take you through an abandoned industrial estate. Don't worry, when you arrive the hotel is in a modern complex built around the Royal Armouries. There's a bunch of restaurants and shops. The Leeds city tour bus starts right outside the hotel too for anyone wanting to kill an hour or so.
Overall a safe, clean and quiet hotel of good basic standard. Helpful staff and a nice location. Would use again if in the vicinity.
One point of note to anyone wanting to park here...There is a multistory next door which the hotel offers to customers for £8 a day (multiple entry). If you speak to the parking attendant when you arrive on site (24hrs), they can offer it cheaper. I got a weeks pass for £30.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I have stayed here many times as I have business at the Royal Armouries for which the hotel is very convenient. It is also quite close to the station and city centre - I invariably walk, if I am not using a car. A discounted rate is available for car parking in the next-door multi-storey car park.

On this latest trip the hotel seemed to be looking tired, in need of freshening up. Our room was an interior room, overlooking a rooftop, with noisy plant running all night. We had to open the window as the room was hot, and had a distinctly musty odour - as if it needed a thorough clean.

Breakfast was OK, but with very limited choice.

Reception staff were welcoming and courteous.

I'll use the place again as it is so convenient for my business. But if it were not for that I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Upon entering the room, the first thing I noticed was the peeling ceiling and patch painting of parts and not others. This gave the room a distinctly scruffy impression. The sofa in the room was also quite dirty and worn. The furniture was tired and bedding not changed for the duration of the stay.
The room and bathroom size were small but consistent with what we were expecting. We had a good rate and given my husband was attending a conference at the Armouries Museum (which is excellent by the way) - this hotel was selected for convenience.
Breakfast buffet was extensive but on busy days during the week (Tues to Friday) one had to ask them to replenish items. The area where one ate was not adequately attended to and it was hard to find a clean table to enjoy breakfast if eating a bit later.
All in all a basic hotel that could be improved to a good business hotel with a bit of paint - first impressions do count.
In terms of access to the centre of Leeds - it was a short walk of 5-10mins duration.
A good pizza/pasta restaurant - that serves good coffee and lunch and dinner daily was next door. This had a great ambience and made it easy to get a good meal without venturing too far.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds020, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are aware of the need in a few of our bedrooms to re-plaster/paint and we are currently taking steps to have this completed in the coming months. You are correct that first impressions count and i hope this doesnt deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
472 helpful votes 472 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We just had a one night stay whilst visiting our daughter and with it being a last minute mid week booking there wasn't an awful left to choose from and at £59 here for b and b or £150 at 42 The Calls for b! it was an easy choice. We have stayed at nearly all the hotels in Leeds over the past few years so I have plenty to compare with and this scored favourably. The room was big enough and had a kettle and tea and coffe (bring your own biscuits) and the bathroom was small with only a shower rather than a bath but it was all quite adequate. Breakfast was a bit hectic and you had to wait for certain items and cutlery to be continually replaced but really - at that price - does it really matter? Just opposite the Royal Armouries and 5 minutes walk from The Calls and another 5 minutes to the shops - it really is a nice area for a bit of a wander around. A lot of the units on the wharf remain unsold or have been shut down but there are enough for there to be places to eat and drink. The bar prices are high (£5.50 for a large wine) but that is to be expected in a hotel and they compensate for this by putting free wifi in the breakfast, lobby and bar area. Highly recommended as long as your expectations are realistic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds020, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience of the hotel. When you come back you should take advantage of our new ‘happy hour’ on the bar!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express Leeds Armouries for one night while visiting family in the area, with young children in tow. Having stayed at various Holiday Inns in the past, we were disappointed this time around.

The plus point: rooms up to the usual standard - immaculately clean.

The negatives:

- bed rock hard and uncomfortable to sleep on - though this may be a matter of personal preference (though I always get a good night's sleep in Holiday Inn, but not this time)
- sofa bed not made up on our arrival, despite telling the guy on the front desk that we needed one - we had to do this ourselves after a member of staff fetched us bedding
- breakfast - awful! No plates, no bowls, no glasses, no cups, no bread, no croissant... so a lengthy wait until a hassled-looking member of staff brought these all out; in the meantime, numerous guests patiently bustled around each other in the rather-small breakfast serving area. Sausages nearly as hard as the mattress in our room and inedible. Pure orange juice had an inch of head, somewhat like Guiness and tasted a bit odd. We had the minimalist breakfast going and found a very nice deli in nearby Abel who do fantastic food. Oh and the fact that the HI breakfast is 'free' is beside the point - its really included in the price, whatever they tell you.

A word of warning - the car park next door to the hotel is somewhat of a lengthy hike when you have loads of luggage and young children - though you do get a preferential parking fee for your trouble.

Overall, unimpressed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds020, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Firstly, I would like to say thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the hotel.
As part of the Intercontinental Hotel Group we aim to ensure that standards are upheld throughout the Holiday Inn Express brand, ranging from bedroom cleanliness to customer service. I apologise that during your stay, our usual high standards were not met in some of these areas.

We are currently taking steps to improve the guest exprience during breakfast as on busy mornings we do find it hard to maintain the high standards set by IHG. I sincerely hope that you will return to the hotel soon to see the positive effect of improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Express by Holiday Inn Leeds Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies and broadband access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitor s needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Express by Holiday Inn Leeds Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.