We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap fun day out for a rainy day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical World

Tropical World
Canal Gardens | Roundhay Park, Leeds LS8 1DF, England
+44 113 266 1850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 67 Attractions in Leeds
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come in out of the cold; at Tropical World, you will always get a warm welcome. Explore the tropics and exotic places from around the world. Experience life in the jungle and the desert. Meet cuddly creatures of the night and come face to face with some amazing characters. All on your own doorstep!Tropical World is Leeds most visited family attraction and has featured on CBBC. We are home to a number of animals, including; crocodiles, butterflies, bats, snakes and our gorgeous meerkat family! We also have a bird collection that includes rare species.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Cheap fun day out for a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Visited Tropical world today as it was raining and wanted to take my one year old somewhere. Parking is great, it's free and only across the world. Admission price is also cheap. Variety of animals is OK, however we struggled to see due to the amount of school children everywhere! Would have got 4* but only saw 2 butterfly's whilst we were there.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    239
    76
    25
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing !!! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Came here with my three children as it 'used' to be a fabulous day out !! We were disappointed from the start - the place was dirty the ponds were green with slime and half empty !! There were hardly any butterflies - yes it's under construction but the place need a whole revamp!! The best but is the meerkats and that it!! You couldnt even see into the fish tanks due to the algae!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and my partner had a fantastic day at tropical world, i can honestly say i read reviews before i went although most negative and people mentioned not being able to get to certain areas or not tending to plants and animals but didnt let it put me off as some people can word things a bit extreme, dont understand the people moaning when for £3.40 each we got to see every area, the only 'construction' materials we saw were behind the waterfall but understandably they have to put them somewhere which were placed safely out of the way, may i add there were 2 gentlemen going around and feeding the animals im the area, the butterfly part is very warm so i advise wearing a vest/tank top, we stopped at the meerkats for ages they were really superb to watch, great place will definately come back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Renovation work urgently needs completing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We've just returned from a trip to Tropical World. There is an enormous amount of work required to complete the renovation, and apart from the gift shop, it was difficult to see what improvements had actually been done. The place is dirty, and very run down. I'm not sure how it can stay open to the public while this work is being done, not without some clever marketing and lots of engaging signs saying 'this is what this bit will look like'. The public need to be taken on the renovation journey if they're to stay open. Tropical World have a long way to go before they'll be finished.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely few hours out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Lovely few hours out with the children love the new meercat addition, reasonably priced. Definitely recommend taking a picnic on a nice day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical World also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Tropical World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.