We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“security nightmare!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Leeds East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Leeds East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Leeds East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Selby Road | Whitkirk, Leeds LS15 7AY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“security nightmare!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were 7 mature ladies booked to celebrate a 60th birthday...we booked & paid for 4 double rooms as there should have been 8 but one had to cancel at last minute....lovely rooms always at premier inn & reception staff were lovely & very helpful, location was good, next door to good pub with lovely food (thai food was fab!) & taxis ordered by reception were reasonably priced & helpful.. sadly thats were the good things end....would never stay there again due to the intimidating night security men...we were an all female group, back in the hotel by 12.30 after a lovely night, not loud or drunk but put pj's on to meet in one room for a nightcap...never got chance as we had been followed up & were ordered into our own rooms....went to bed to watch tv & then had security knocking again asking us to turn tv down, I went outside room to check noise level & our tv
couldn't be heard outside our room..he was seen to have his ear to the doors of the rooms... w
as just checking we were all in our own rooms...one lady in our party who was in a room alone had stayed in reception talking to two couples, she came up to her room alone & was followed by a
male security guard who, when she came to collect her jacket from my room was 'ordered' twice into her own room in a very intimidating manner..& told she had 10 mins to get into her room or he would call the police....would he have done that to a male guest..? I don't think so....when our complaint about this was raised the next morning at reception another guest heard & spoke up to say she had witnessed what had happened & said it was very intimidating...a lovely celebration weekend was spoilt....at ages ranging from 45 to 60 we were treat like kids on a school trip with teachers checking up on us every 30 mins...couldn't sleep all night even though beds were soo comfy as was waiting for next knock on door from security checking we were in our own rooms....never again would I stay there.. nothing like any other premier inn I have stayed in..they seriously need it sorting....breakfast was lovely when it was eventually served...needs tweaking as bacon was cold before everything else eventually became available but staff were lovely so can overlook that...their main problem is the night security staff..thankfully they aren't apparently employed by premier inn so they definitely need to re think that aspect as it will lose them so much business...its too far out of city centre for young party people & better suited for families or more mature guests..when they get rid of the intimidating night security staff they employ now....

Room Tip: The rooms were excellent as always at Premier Inn as were the lovely, helpful reception staff but sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrLeedsEast, Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about the incident on the night of your stay.
Thank you for taking my call and I hope we have managed to resolve your issue and cocerns. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    139
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
131
122
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a friend and our two 15 years old daughters so they could go to a concert! Arrived slightly early than the two o'clock check in and found the lovely receptionist to be very helpful and no problem checking in abit early. We ate at the pub opposit which was fine as pub grub goes. Reception ordered us a cab to town which was £8 to the centre which we felt was good value. On our return we jumped into a Leeds City cab after a few minutes into a return the driver informed us it was £20 to the hotel, we questioned this and were told it's a £8.50 standing charge avoid CITY CABS total rip off. Once at the hotel we were met by 4 people drinking in reception who were told the manager had told them they were not allowed to continue there night in one room! Finding this slightly strange we went to our room!. We had only been in a 10 mins or so when the security card knocked on our door demanding to know how many were in our room, we told him and he left only to return with the manager again wanting to know how many people! We allowed them in and they even checked the bathroom for extra guests!!!! Not the best nights sleep as could hear the people above walking about from 4am. BREAKFAST: served in pub was cold, only a couple of serving spoons available so everybody was waiting to be able to serve themselves. We ate at 8am so was plenty but am sure if you left it later it would have been even worse!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrLeedsEast, Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
·We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. At Leeds East Premier Inn we endeavour to deliver a high level of service in all our hotels, and we apologise that you did not receive this during your stay. Your feedback has been noted and will be duly investigated by myself. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss further on 0113 2645676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Normal Premier Inn standard, would agree that if you like the window open to have a room on the back overlooking the car park. Also the floor above my room was very noisy which I'm sure if your on the top floor you would avoid this.
The restaurant which serves breakfast could do with some training, teach them how to smile!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrLeedsEast, Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, if you come stay with us again you are more than welcome to ring before and request a room on the back car park if you wish. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the level of service over in the restaurant, at Leeds East Premier Inn we endeavour to deliver a high level of service in all our hotels and we apologise that you did not receive this during your stay. Your feedback has been noted and will be forwarded to the restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A really good standard premier inn. Reception were so lovely and helpful, even under pressure as they were very busy the day we visited. Rooms were spacious and clean, they even manged to accommodate my early check in request, I was amazed as they were rammed full with guests for two weddings arriving. Decent nights sleep, floor boards a bit creaky above but luckily they went to bed early too! All in all a good premier inn and I'd stay again with no qualms. The pub over the road was decent enough for a pub lunch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrLeedsEast, General Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello there, thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind regards, Vida & all the team at Leeds East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Easy to get to, easy access to Leeds, pub next door for breakfast and with great Tai restaurant on first floor. Well known supermarket in walking distance and free on site parking make this a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrLeedsEast, General Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Leeds East Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Vida Forsyth & all the team at Leeds East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Basic hotel run to usual Premier Inn standards - little character but generally clean (apart from the ceiling cobwebs in our room. Reception staff were excellent though and went more than the extra mile to help. Worth mentioning that the Premier Inn 'good night's sleep' guarantee isn't just an advertising - it works!

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the rear car park to avoid road noise if you like the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrLeedsEast, General Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Leeds East Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon hopefully! Kindest regards, Vida Forsyth & all the team at Leeds East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here previously and on both occasions service brill. In particular Denise on reception this time was superb. Very friendly and chatty.the rooms are really clean and tidy. Lication was brilliant for us. Breakfast was lovely and again friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrLeedsEast, General Manager at Premier Inn Leeds East, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted your returning stay was pleasant. Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to our staff service, particularly Denise. All of our staff endeavour to give all guests a high level of service and we will gladly pass your comments onto her.
We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Vida & all the team at Leeds East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Leeds East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leeds East

Address: Selby Road | Whitkirk, Leeds LS15 7AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leeds East 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Leeds East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Leeds East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.