We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rare

Rare
Lamberts Yard | 163 Lower Briggate, Leeds LS1 6LY, England
+44 113 246 7013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Championing premium local produce and offering a refined yet relaxed menu, Rare is a one-of-a-kind hideaway in Leeds. Enjoy succulent, whole roasted chickens served on a spike, freshly muddled cocktails, and meats brined, braised and slow-cooked in house for melt-in-the-mouth flavours. Chunky wood tables, free Wi-Fi and a range of eclectic specialist newspapers and magazines aid the laidback ambience at Rare restaurant, while local DJ legend Lucy Locket curates bespoke Rare playlists.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My friend and I both went for the pulled pork sandwich, which was amazing but the chips were possibly the best chips I have ever had at a restaurant! Great to see such a lovely restaurant in Leeds and I like that the menu is simple. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Hg1j.
Those chips really are amazing aren’t they… Hard to beat we think.
So glad to hear you had a lovely RARE experience. We look forward to having you back for another RARE visit.
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    102
    62
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cannot be faulted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited with friends for Sunday lunch, it really was worth the drive over from Manchester. The food was excellent and the service was fantastic. The staff were friendly and attentive, the non alcoholic cocktail made for our designated driver wasn't on the menu but the bar staff made it up especially for her!! All beef was cooked to perfection depending on each individuals preference and the dinner included all the trimmings - wicked Yorkshire pudding!! The desserts were delicious and the beer & wine were also 'spot on'. We will definitely all be returning very soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Pippalata.
That’s the second great user name we’ve had this week!
We’re so happy to hear your trip across the Pennines was worth it and you had a great RARE experience. It’s so good to hear our staff are busy delivering UNCOMMON EXCELLENCE – we’d love to know what your driver’s bespoke Mocktail had in it!
Thank so much for taking the time to review RARE.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great meal & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had a lovely meal at Rare, seated next to the cow (interesting!). We were slightly worried to see the upstairs bar fairly empty, but needn't have worried as the downstairs restaurant was full! The staff were very helpful and happy to advise on the menu. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was buzzing. It must be a decent restaurant if two non-parsnip eaters order roasted root veg and really enjoy the parsnips! We shared a dessert, which was a good job as the portion was huge and easily fed two! Would recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello sockmonstersmum.
Love the name! And more importantly LOVE the fact you enjoyed your RARE experience. 5*s always means a lot to us coming from a seasoned reviewer (21 reviews).
We hope to see you again some time soon.
Thanks for taking the time to review RARE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Popped in by chance, made to feel very welcome.
Food and service fantastic, I had the the treacle cured beef sandwich WOW.
Check out the downstairs Resterant the whole place has a very cool vibe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Gary63_10.
Glad you enjoyed your RARE experience by chance! Next time, we hope you’ll plan a visit and try out some of our other tasty food & drinks.
Thanks for taking the time to review RARE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Champion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Bar staff were friendly and knew their trade well, atmosphere was warm and welcoming, the food was outstanding. Ordered from the specials menu, had the pulled pork Wellington and Henderson sauce onion rings, out of this world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello kelelkenobi.
Great to hear you had such a "champion" RARE experience.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review RARE.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Rare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.