We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel, Awful Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bewley's Hotel Leeds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bewley's Hotel Leeds to your Saves list
Bewley's Hotel Leeds
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Walk | Sweet Street, Leeds LS11 9AT, England (Holbeck)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK Hotel, Awful Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So this review is split into two parts, one for the room and one for the food.

Lets start with the 'hotel' side. Check in was fine, staff well presented and efficient. The hotel also has it's own carpark which is a bonus. The rooms are OK, I have had standard and executive, nit sure exactly what the difference is. It's a typical business hotel in a city centre, apart from it's not in the city, it's a good 10-15 Minute walk away or a £6 taxi. Given the choice of hotels in the area, Jurys, Hilton, Park Plaze, DoubleTree, I would only choose to stay here again if I couldn't get in any of the others with my budget.

Now for the food, and I must stress, this only applies to Breakfast and the Bar Food, I never ate in the main restaurant. Breakfast is a little 'school dinners' as you have to file along with a tray collecting various items en route. The food is okay and there is choice, but with the volume of residents it doesn't work well at peak times.

The Bar Food, once was enough. I had a Yorkshire Pudding with stew and it actually had just ONE piece of meat, yes just ONE ! I also had the cheese board which for £7 you get two pieces of cheese and four crackers. When I complained, the Bar Manager did say that the staff are supposed to clarify how small it actually is when you order.....I would be embarrassed to call it a platter !

So, OK hotel, not great food

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    124
    53
    30
    11
See reviews for
29
77
6
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent a night in this hotel beginning December. Cannot fault it in any way. There were 15 of us and on arrival were dealt with quickly and efficiently by the reception staff. The rooms were very spotless and very spacious. Breakfast was also first class, piping hot and a great variety of food to choose from. All in all a wonderful break and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. First class.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here on business after staying the previous week at the Village in South Leeds.

Whilst the location is good for the city and the lobby and bar have a lovely ambience, the rooms seem a little bare and feel like a budget hotel. Room service food wasn't the best although the bathroom and bed were great.

I'd try other central hotels before I'd come back here.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stopped here midweek for a factory visit the following day. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we went out into Leeds, however the room was great with comfy bed and decent sized room so I had enough room to move. We had a few beers in the bar before going out and when we came back and there was a good selection on offer at an acceptable price ( BTW £4 a pint is NOT scandalous unless you just arrived from the 90s in a time machine) The breakfast in the morning was excellent and a semi self service but with no sneering looks when you asked for lots of bacon . Good selection of hot and cold food. Will be stopping here again if in Leeds

Room Tip: One at the rear is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked well in advance to do some christmas shopping in Leeds. The Hotel was minutes walk from the railway station and city centre with bus services immediately outside. Inside was immaculate and the layout and interior design of the Hotel was outstanding. Our room was warm, clean and spacious and the beds were fresh and comfy. There was a large party on in the downstairs bar but there was no noise upstairs whatsoever. Staff were friendly, welcoming and very professional. The price was a bargain and we would recommend to others and we shall definately visit again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed at hotel , rooms are very large and their is ample space and they were very clean and tidy and breakfast is excellent with a great choice. great for staying if your are shopping in leeds or going for a night out.

Room Tip: not near lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear robinson98745678,

Thank you very much for such a nice review.

It is super to read you had a nice stay and we wish you all the best for Christmas!

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite a large room good atmosphere. Dance floor very small for the amount of people there. DJ good played lots of xmas and party tunes kept people on the dance floor. Food was good but could have done with being warmer and service was quite slow didn't seem co-ordinated, had to ask for coffee as think they forgot. Overall a good night just needed a bit of tweaking.

Room Tip: Didn't stay the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ahb71,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and providing feedback. I am sorry to hear that the coffee was delayed - we collate all of our feedback from the party season and see where we can improve for next year.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope we can welcome you back to Bewleys Leeds very soon.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bewley's Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bewley's Hotel Leeds

Address: City Walk | Sweet Street, Leeds LS11 9AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bewley's Hotel Leeds 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Moran & Bewleys Hotel Group, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bewley's Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Bewleys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bewley's Hotel Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.