We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really REALLY REALLY! GOOD! but not perfect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Apperley Lane | Apperley Bridge, Leeds BD10 0NS, England
+44 113 239 1444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 1,306 restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $34 - $51
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really REALLY REALLY! GOOD! but not perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A very enjoyable steak.

The mojito was spot on. Everything was excellent, the grill could have been a little hotter for the ribeye to sear the outside and a fat a little more.

The only thing that needed attention were the sauces, My bluecheese and bacon sauce tasted exactly the same as the peppercorn sauce, both of which tasted like gravy. I wonder why both tasted like gravy ;P See you soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Many thanks for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Moody Cow. I have noted your comment with regard to the sauces and I will speak to our Head Chef this morning as all feedback is taken very seriously. Once again thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    113
    33
    17
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Saturday lunch at the moody cow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited this restaurant on Saturday lunch time . Was pleasantly surprised . Loved the decor. Was greeted by the manager Andy who was friendly and very polite. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were four in our party and we all couldn't fault the food it was delicious . We had starters, main and desserts loved every course. Loved the food the service and the atmosphere will definitely be back. Look forward to seeing you all soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We love to hear about people leaving happy and full! See you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food,service & Front of house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I was at The Moody Cow on Saturday for a meal with my family. Food and service was great. Front of house Andy was brilliant from the moment we arrive and so where the rest of the staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Saturdays are very busy for us so it is great to hear the service was spot on and you enjoyed your visit. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Certainly not a Moody Cow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

As a first visit we were all very pleasantly surprised could not fault a thing . From walking in the door and being greeted by friendly and helpful staff.We were given help choosing the wine and not being rushed or pushed into anything. The food was very tasty and well cooked we will definitley be going again in the not too distant future

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you Marlowe78, very pleased you enjoyed your visit, see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent quality food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We'd been meaning to try this restaurant for ages and our only regret is that we did not visit sooner! The service was extremely attentive and the food and atmosphere great. The complimentary salad bar is a nice touch and offered good variety. Our party sampled the burger, steak, nachos and a chicken dish from the specials board. We could not fault any of the food. The drinks menu is also reasonably priced. Very happy to have a restaurant of this calibre on our doorstep without having to travel into the city centre. We definitely look forward to returning soon.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moody Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.