We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails and Football” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aviator

The Aviator
16 High Street, Yeadon, Leeds, England
01132391717
Improve this listing
Ranked #990 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cocktails and Football”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A big pub on the main street that caters for all ages. We went on a sunday evening after the football so it was a bit quiet than it probably would be on a friday or saturday. Only £7.95 for 2 cocktails and plenty of other deals on drinks such as shots and beers. Though we didnt eat, the food coming from the kitchen looked good and the portions were generous. Maybe not the place for a quiet romantic dinner for two but well worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for New Years Eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Having found that the Wetherspoon's up the road was lacking in atmosphere we adjourned to the Aviator's.

The contrast to the Clothier's was dramatic, here it was absolutely packed with the NYE celebrations in full swing.

Despite the number of customers at the bar I got served fairly quickly and was surprised that the prices charged were very reasonable.

There were a lot of young customers but the atmosphere was very relaxed and sociable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An overall good pub for a drink and inexpensive food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Aviator is a fairly modern pub with a good selection of drinks to choose from. I haven't eaten here so cannot comment on the food but worth a visit if you are in the area

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place has been open a few years now, and although recently had a new paint job, I think it needs a bit of an overhaul. Originally it had a classy feel, but now it is as common place as any other eating pub. Its nice enough, and the food is very good. But there are a few more competitors for the place on the high street nowadays. Its not too bad as a going out pub for those who aren't into clubbing any more, and for those who aren't young enough to accept the hassle going into Leeds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
561 reviews 561 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“Typical modern eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having never been here before, and looking for somewhere for a family meal, called in for a drink and to have a good look round. I guess it is very much in keeping with all the other eateries, I first thought I had wandered into a Wetherspoons, but no, however they all look very similar to me, wasn't too impressed with the tables and seating in the main pub area, but there are some other styles of seating if you prefer and a mezzanine floor away from the main area.
As I was here I decided to scrutinise the menu, and I must say that it was quite appealing with a good choice and selection at very reasonable prices, will definitely have to try it sometime in the near future. The building used to be our local Picture House (cinema to the younger reader) and then the local Bingo Hall before becoming a pub, the building façade has remained mainly unaltered during all its different uses. Will definitely come back and try the food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aviator also viewed

 

Been to The Aviator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.