We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional for a budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Leeds Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Leeds Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Leeds Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Marlborough Street | West Yorkshire, Leeds LS1 4PB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Ballina, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional for a budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend of October 27th/28th for 3 nights as part of a group of +30 visiting musicians and we were really well looked after and found the staff lovely, the hotel clean and location great as Leeds city centre is only 10 minutes walk away. We have often stayed in hotels in the Accor group and are rarely dissapointed but this was honestly better than ANY Ibis hotel I have ever stayed in!

Our room was on the 11th floor and was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable. Heating a/c ventillation worked perfectly. The signs said full brekfast available from 8 to 10am and continental brekfast available outside these times 6am to 8am and 10am to 12Pm but we found that full brekfast was available right up until 12pm! The Hotel also has a restaurant and bar which is fine reasonably priced and we eat here for two nights. Theres a TGI Friday across the road but is usually busy so get there early.

Staff were really nice and pandered to our every whim and were able to muster up some late night snacks when required! Wifi and wired internet is available in the rooms but is extra. A little bit expensive in my opinion but I use a 3g dongle so it didnt bother me.

All in all a lovely stay in a lovely city and everyone in our group of over 30 felt the same.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors 11th and 12th should enjoy great views across the city but ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTomlinson, General Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Wow, what a lovely review. I have shared your comments with my team today and there were huge smiles all round. All my team work exceptionally hard to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and when we read comments such as yours, it makes it all so much more worthwhile. We do hope that we can welcome you to Ibis Leeds Centre in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    309
    138
    30
    33
See reviews for
60
192
84
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed in this Ibis hotel with my partner. We checked in and although I didn't exactly love the mobile home style bedroom & bathroom I was fully aware I was In a 2 star hotel so you get what you pay for. What I did not expect was small black hairs all over the bottom of the shower & longer black hair in my folded 'clean' towels. When I then asked reception to come clean in... I waited almost two hours before cleaning it myself as I was in a rush out, then to have reception/cleaner knock I the door to clean it and I explained I cleaned it myself she said 'sorry but were very busy' . To then top off my stay I can the cleaner knock and sour in my room at 9.05 am both mornings!! Never again will I stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTomlinson, General Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we pride ourselves on at Ibis Leeds Centre as you can see from some of our previous reviews. I will ensure that I share your feedback with my team especially my Housekeeping Team as it seems like this room was over looked during our final cleanliness checks. Please accept my sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have stayed here twice, clean,tidy, beds very comfortable. Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms very warm had to ask for fan which was no problem for them to provide. Breakfast £7.50 with very good choice you can eat as much as you like. Easy to get to from M1 would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTomlinson, General Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always nice to read comments from a repeat visitors and I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As a regular guest I hope that you have taken advantage of signing up for our loyalty scheme so that you can start to reap the rewards. I hope that we can welcome you back to Leeds for your third trip to Leeds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location. A great base for a visit to Leeds for whatever reason. We stayed overnight. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms have everything you need, small functional bathroom and a very comfortable bed, all extremely clean. Breakfast at £7.50 was generous and well-presented, all help-yourself. We were lucky to get a great room rate of £28 but would pay more for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTomlinson, General Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest
I am glad that you were able to take up one of our hot deal promotions as they are excellent value for money. I will ensure that your comments are shared with my team, they all work exceptionally hard to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and its lovely to receive some recognition for it.
I hope that we can welcome you to Ibis Leeds soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A few friends wishing to use this popular hotel for a short break to Leeds will be pleasantly suprised. On arrival, check in was smooth and staff were helpful. The rooms are tight, logical and tidy. A tv that allows docking is an added bonus. Within walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants although for some a taxi may be advised. Given the price of a weekend stay you cant go wrong.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTomlinson, General Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am happy to read that you all had a good time during you stay in Leeds. I will ensure that your comments are shared with my team and I hope that we can welcome you and your friends to Ibis Leeds Centre in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here on Tuesday 30th October 2012. This was our second stay at this hotel. We use it as it is cheap and convenient for the O2.

We didn’t make use of any of the hotel facilities so that is something that I can’t really comment on however the menus looked reasonably priced and there looked to be quite a variety of food on offer.

We had pre paid for the hotel so check in was swift and we didn’t have to show the card that we had pre paid with.

I had read reviews on TA before we left that the higher floors had had their beds replaced so I emailed in advance to ask for a room on the top floor. When we were given our room number I was quite disappointed that our room was on the 5th floor. When we stayed here previously last year we were on either the 3rd or 4th floor and it was pretty noisy from outside traffic and also the general flow of other hotel guests.

When we got out of the lift I was again worried that the room we had was right next to the lift and that this would be quite noisy with people coming in and out.

When we got in the room I was pleased to see that the bed had been replaced.

The room is quite basic but it’s good that you are provided with a kettle and tea/coffee.

I had a great night of sleep. The new beds are a massive improvement on the old and this room seemed really calm and quiet – I’m quite a light sleeper when not at home so to sleep right through was fab.

Check out was also painless, just handed in our room key.

I would recommend this hotel to all. The staff are very helpful and polite, nothing seemed too much trouble from what we observed.

The parking is very convenient also. The car park opposite, (even with the mad dash over the road to avoid the traffic) was reasonably priced – 23 hours of parking for £7.50 which we paid by card over the phone.

Overall a great value overnight stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem much quieter - if you are booking to stay in the next few weeks email and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTomlinson, General Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed review. Our guest feedback is vital for us to continue to improve our offer. I am most please that you like our new beds. These beds are the result of a lot of feedback from our guests so it is vital that our guests like the end result.
I do hope that you will visit us again when you are next in Leeds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in the hotel previous night. Was surprised to find a wet towel on the bed in the first room I was given the keys of, seems the cleaning staff forgot it there unnoticed. in the second room the smell of glue was overwhelming (i know there is repair work in progress but still it is hard to breathe in such atmosphere), but then again there was rubbish left on the table, so I asked to change and only from the third attempt the room was clean, nice and cosy. I must say I was not angry but it was strange to see two rooms unclean one after another. However the lady at the front desk was very friendly and I helped me to get a nice room. Please pay attention to cleaning! Maya Siunova

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTomlinson, General Manager at Ibis Leeds Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Maya Siunova
Thank you for providing you feedback after your stay with us. I was most disappointed to read the problems that you encountered. I will ensure these comments are shared with my Housekeeping Team as it seems that these room should had not been checked fully beforehand. Please be assured that I will take the necessary corrective actions to ensure that this situation does not arise in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Leeds Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leeds Centre

Address: 23 Marlborough Street | West Yorkshire, Leeds LS1 4PB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leeds Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leeds Centre is a 168 room hotel located within the centre of Leeds, close to the shopping district, 10 minutes walk from Leeds railway station, 20 minutes drive from Leeds Bradford Airport. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel features a restaurant open between 6 p.m. and 10 p.m and a bar open between 12 noon and 1 a.m with snacks available 24 hours. Complimentary WIFI is available throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have its own car park but there is a public pay and display car park opposite the hotel where charges apply during the day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Leeds Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Leeds Centre Hotel Leeds
Accor Leeds Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Leeds Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.