We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St aidens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Aidan's RSPB reserve

St Aidan's RSPB reserve
Astley Lane | Great Preston, Leeds, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 67 Attractions in Leeds
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St Aidan's is a perfect place to get close to nature and relax, unwind or exercise in a stress-free environment. Just outside Leeds on the banks of the River Aire, it's a big new space to walk, run, cycle, or ride your horse and enjoy the wildlife that surrounds you. It has a wide range of wild plants and animals, and is home to thousands of birds, brown hares, roe deer, wild flowers and insects - all living in a stunning landscape of vast reedbeds, grassland, woodland, lakes, ponds and islands. With a variety of circular paths of varying lengths and large areas of open grassland, St Aidan's is a great place for families to enjoy the outdoors, share a picnic and play together. Over 7.5 Miles (12 km) of footpaths, bridleways and cycle routes connect the surrounding communities, with links to national footpath and cycle networks. St Aidan's is a fantastic place for locals wishing to explore the wider countryside or as a destination for people who love nature.
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“St aidens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice walk, it will be better when car park and visitor centre opens maybe some signs as to which way to walk as we were unsure and took the wrong route.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Place of beauty that was once ugly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After looking on the net for somewhere new to go for a walk, we came upon information about St Aidans RSPB Reserve and what a treat it turned out to be. It exceeded all our expectations and when we entered through the entrance it literally took our breath away, as it was very beautiful, lush and very vast. We never expected the place to be on such a large scale. We couldn't ask for more - a long beautiful walk around lakes, ponds and wetlands, lots of birds, swans and lush greenery. A place for dog walkers, walkers, joggers and cyclists and also you learn a bit of history about the place which used to be a coal mining site.
Also - it's great for people taking public transport. We went from Leeds on a Sunday and caught the 168 from Park Row and the bus driver was very helpful and with his help we found the place in no time when we got of the bus, as it had RSPB St Aidans at the entrance.
We will be planning our next trip to St Aidans very very soon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Take a walk, take the dog, take your binoculars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

It just goes to show that living locally doesn't mean you know everything in the area. Only discovered this reserve recently because it was the starting point of a walk. The visitor centre and car parking to the reserve are currently closed due to some planning issues. However, roadside parking is available outside on the main road. The reserve is huge. Multiple lagoons and tributaries on the site of a former colliery. The River Aire flows against it's southern border. The reserve is criss-crossed by public footpaths. Excellent opportunities to walk your dog, meander, bird watching or a combination. The Leeds Country Way is easily connected to the footpaths to the reserve if, like us, you wanted to make a day of two halves.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Visitor centre closed but reserve open & worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Unfortunately the visitor centre has been closed for some time but the reserve remains open & is well worth a visit.
Can't imagine how many species can be seen here - must be over 100???
We've walked & cycled this reserve. It's reasonably extensive in size. Quite open plan but with some hidden nooks for picnics etc.
Well worth a visit. If you do visit & park in the visitor centre car park just remember the fee is nominal & is put towards caring for the reserve. We have seen lots of people park up & not pay or display RSPB members badges. Don't be so tight!! We're skint but at least we don't take the Mickey & expect to visit a glorious place like this without contributing our fair share towards it!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A place of huge skies and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We discovered this joy of a site and returned three times in the same week. Following the many footpaths and bridle ways, we saw buzzards over the hill, kestrels hovering over the reed beds and numerous water birds including grebe and a flash of a kingfisher flying down the River Aire. We walked to the nearby canal and along the river with footpaths taking you off the site towards Woodlesford, Methley, Castleford and Wakefield. At the moment the visitor centre is not yet open so take some sandwiches!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Aidan's RSPB reserve also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to St Aidan's RSPB reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Aidan's RSPB reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.