We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Trinity Leeds | Albion Street, Leeds LS1 6HW, England
01132460540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 1,387 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have enjoyed all my visits to the alchemist although it is very expensive, we paid £10.00 for one cocktail. Also the girl with the tatoo's all over her arms is great at making cocktails but I would suggest she needs to brush up on customer service we found her attitude poor when we asked her a couple of questions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    156
    58
    46
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a nice place to spend a few hours, the cocktails are great and top quality and look good, the food was nice and again is presented very well although a little expensive for what it is. The only down side was you felt cramped in when eating, the tables are very close together but once sat down very comfortable. If your going for lunch get there early, say before 12.30 as it get's busy, we got a table straight away at 12.30 but on the way out many people waiting for tables.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So glad it lived up to what I'd hoped!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Booked for my sister's birthday, delightful service (amazing Olivia!) fantastic honest recommendations thankyou :) and the Food is fantastic, great prices and not skimpy portions, but yet not over sized either so you can enjoy at least 2 courses at sensible prices in Leeds! The decor is lovely the place is obviously popular, I would definitely recommend booking, enjoy, can't wait to book again, loved it :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What no bitter!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Come on include some bottles of beer in your vast drinks menu, not everyone likes lager or cocktails. You sell lager so why not a range of bottled bitters?
Lots of great bars in Leeds offer real ale so will not be back at The Alchemist for that reason.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlchemistTL, Manager at The Alchemist, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello,

Many thanks for providing us with your feedback on our drinks selection. We are predominantly a cocktail bar, however, we do understand the importance of offering choice to our guests. I have passed on your suggestions to our head office.

Thank you and kind regards.

The Alchemist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Called in for lunch,had not booked restaurant full but advised we could have a table outside. Perfect table outside on balcony in beautiful sunshine, excellent service, good food, great cocktails,will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alchemist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.