We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilets disgusting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Trinity Leeds | Albion Street, Leeds LS1 6HW, England
01132460540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #232 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Toilets disgusting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Great place to go for cocktails but the toilets and unisex and dirty. In fact they smell terrible. Told the door man and he said the manager knew! Why not do something about it then!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    196
    67
    53
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

popped in for a few drinks with some friends once we'd figured out how to find it in trinity! lovely cocktails almost too many to choose from, busy on a saturday night as you'd expect, great place for a mid week date. nice heated outside terrace

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“pre christmas drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

we popped in for a couple of drinks whilst shopping in leeds. The bar was packed and had a wonderful atmosphere. whilst it was a chilly day we sat outside at a table with a patio heater which kept the chill at bay.
the service was attentive, cocktails were extremely nice and certainly not "run of the mill" perhaps a little too much ice in the bubblegum mojito. We really enjoyed our brief visit but are looking forward to working our way through the extensive but unusual menu

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had only chocolate milkshake and it's so great.
It is the best milkshake I ever had in Leeds :)
The atmosphere is also good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive and overrated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We waited 45 minutes for a table, serving staff were unwelcoming and surly (I only stayed as my sister really likes the place and it was her birthday), and the portions are TINY! £4.25 for 8 nachos with 3 little pots of sauce (no cutlery provided). My main of vegetable fajitas was bland and uninspiring. We were seated by a door that leads onto a balcony that stayed propped open for our duration. In December. I can't believe some people even sat out there to eat! I hope I don't have to come back here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlchemistTL, Manager at The Alchemist, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent trip to The Alchemist. If you would be happy to provide me with your details I can arrange for a Manager to get in contact with you to discuss the points you have raised. Please email trinitybdm@thealchemist.uk.com. Look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, The Alchemist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alchemist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.