We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Curry Leaf - CLOSED

The Curry Leaf
2.Eastgate, Leeds ls2 7jl, England
01132346054
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here as it seemed pretty good from the reviews. It didn't disappoint. Had the prawn poori starter which was made with king prawns and was very tasty, my colleague had the stuffed peppers which were lovely. We then both had the chichen thali which was lovely but quite hot, you can ask to have it more mild if you like. All said this was a great little find and highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    36
    9
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Extremely rude over trying to book a table with a GroupOn voucher - couldn't accommodate until AFTER 9.30pm on two separate occasions when I tried to book in advance, when I tried a third time I was told the voucher was expiring 'today' which i hadn't realised, when I asked if there was any chance to redeem it the following evening after explaining I hadn't been able to book a table on two previous occasions, I was told very rudely 'absolutely not'. I was really looking forward to trying the food but with an attitude like that I can do without.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Customer service seriously lacking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We asked the staff to hold bringing the starters out as we had to feed our baby and they brought them out very quickly. The starters had gone cold by the time we could eat. They offered to reheat pooris - they need to be eaten freshly cooked or go rubbery.

The main course came with overcooked/dry chapatis. By the time they brought out fresh ones, we had finished our mains. The main itself, the chicken thali was nice but the vegetarian thali (having explained my wife doesn't eat dairy) consisted of paneer (cheese). No alternative was offered and it didn't say the vegetarian was paneer.

No apologies were offered and we now go to Arti's in Chapel Allerton instead and have always had great service and lovely food. We're South Indian so it was very disappointing.

To enter, you have to walk up a dozen steps and if you have a pushchair, there's no offer of assistance. Not family friendly if you have small children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This restaurant is in Leeds centre on the Headrow/Eastgate.

We visited on 17 May 2013.

As you go upstairs from the street to the restaurant the floor is a bit sticky, and one begins to wonder.

On entry we were greeted by a staff member, who took our details and asked us to sit in the waiting area. We were only waiting a minute and the manager came and greeted us, showing us to our table.

We had a Groupon voucher, and there is always that feeling that the meal or the service may not be up to the same standard as for those paying full price.

That is certainly not the case here.

The waitress gave us time to look at the menu, and as we had never had Thali before, we were debating whether to have a starter. The menu advised that the Thali meals included poppadom, 5 chutneys, chapatti, rice, main curry, 2 veg curries and a potato masala, so we felt that covered the starter, and moved to the choice of Thali.

The very friendly waitress explained clearly what was included in the voucher, and also an explanation of the dish itself.

Drinks (included in the voucher) were brought, and not long after the thali arrived. Again the very helpful waitress explained the traditional way of eating the thali.

The food was excellently presented and extremely tasty. We particularly enjoyed the array of different flavours, and the meal itself was delicious. It was nice and spicy, without being too hot.

The manager was friendly and chatted, saying how he liked to see people able to relax for their meal, and also being able to relax after, without any pressure to vacate the table on completion of the meal.

This was very refreshing, and a change from many restaurants who present you with the bill as a signal to pay and go.

Myself and my partner both commented that at full price of £10.99, the Thali was good value, as it included everything for a good meal, as opposed to other places where you pay for the main, add the rice, add the chapatti, add the poppudum, etc.

We really enjoyed our time there, excellent food, excellent service from the waitress, who took the time to explain the details, and a friendly manager who listened to our comments.

The Curry Leaf is highly recommended, and we will go back again.

Final point, related to a comment by another reviewer, who said they were seated next to the toilet door. The toilets are on the next floor up, accessed from the top of the stairs, and there's no room to put a table on the landing, so I don't quite understand that reviewer's comment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT - you must try and you'll go back**”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time tonight 17th may, went on a Groupin deal and it was great value, plus excellent food and outstanding service. Even without Groupon you must try, it's amazing food and experience you must give a go. It takes alot for me to say a place is good, and this place sure is!!!

Can't wait to go back, it was very early when we went, but still great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Leaf also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curry Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.