We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Wetherspoons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stick Or Twist

Stick Or Twist
The Podium Site | Merrion Way, Leeds, England
+44 113 234 9748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #417 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Closest pub to the First Direct Leeds Arena. Large outside seating area. Breakfast served from 8am and a full menu served until 11pm. 5 Star food hygiene rating. Freshly brewed coffee from just 85p, take away available. Good choice of Cask Marque Accredited serving LocAle. Voted Leeds Camra Pub of the Season Winter 2012. Helpful, friendly staff.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Typical Wetherspoons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Visited here on last Friday of Feb. Been before . This is a typical Wetherspoons pub. Nicely decorated , usual pub grub and cheapish drinks.
Just behind the new Leeds Arena and next to Grovener Casino , so is in good posistion. Quite busy , as you'd expect for a Friday.
Varied customers , from teenage students to pensioners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StickorTwist, Public Relations Manager at Stick Or Twist, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hangover grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The pub was packed but the service was very quick. Food is filling and good value for money. I had a mexican burger. The chips were particularly nice, just a shame my jalapenos weren't that spicy. My partner had a mixed grill which he asked for medium and it came well done which was disapponinting. Because we were in a rush he didnt send it back. The mixed grill was ok but nothing to write home about so to speak. Overall ok if you just want something quick but i wouldnt particularly make a special visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StickorTwist, Public Relations Manager at Stick Or Twist, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for your review. Apologies your mixed grill wasn't cooked to your liking. I will pass on the comments to our kitchen manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We vistied this Wetherspoons on several occasions during our recent stay at the Leeds City Centre Leeds Arena Premier Inn. Stick or Twist as the name would suggest is located right next door to the Casino and adjacent to the new Leeds Arena.

This is a modern restaurant and bar and the value of a steak dinner and drink on Tuesday's for just £5.99 is remarkable. Service was always quick and efficient and all the staff we encountered over the 3 days were always friendly and polite.

If required Wetherspoons offers an alternative to breakfast when staying at the Premier Inn.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StickorTwist, Public Relations Manager at Stick Or Twist, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks very much for your review. We hope you had a nice visit to Leeds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The stick or twist is another Wetherspoons in Leeds but out of the ones we visited was probably the best one. Between 4-8pm cheaper drinks were on offer, bottle of wine only £5. The food was the normal quality. The bar maid was pleasant and even offered us vouchers for cheaper deals. Little out the way but worth the visit

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StickorTwist, Public Relations Manager at Stick Or Twist, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for your review. Hope you visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great mixed grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Called in here on Saturday afternoon with my girlfriend for some dinner and we both thought it was excellent.
We have been here before and found the food to be hit and miss,sometimes it was good and others just average.
I had a large mixed grill and my partner had hunters chicken and after we had finished we both said it was the best meal we had eaten there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StickorTwist, Public Relations Manager at Stick Or Twist, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Am pleased you enjoyed your meal & hope you'll visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stick Or Twist also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Stick Or Twist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stick Or Twist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.