We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick service, good food, some niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red's True Barbecue - Leeds

Red's True Barbecue - Leeds
1 Cloth Hall Street, Leeds LS1 2HD, England
0113 834 5834
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 1,387 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quick service, good food, some niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Overall a good experience but space in the restaurant is obviously at a premium. If you want to go for lunch you need to literally turn up at 12. We chose the higher tables which gave up a little more space. The waitress was very friendly and made sure everything was ok. My only niggle really was that I found the beef in my burger a little tough and the pulled pork to be cold. All in all though it didn't change the taste which was certainly bbq tastic.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Guest Relations Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Leeds, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Good Morning Spike, Thanks so much for the kind review of Reds True Barbecue.

It seems to be a recurring theme this morning but please, if you have any issues with your food, speak to your server. The Texas beef brisket should be tender not tough, the North Carolina pulled pork should be hot not cold. Overall your Reds Pit Burger was still great but it should be fantastic & it would've been had you made your server aware of your concerns.

As you have stressed, we are a very busy operation & we do have our niggles from time to time, we just need you to let us know about them.

Best Wishes - Gary G

P.S For a much calmer Reds True Barbecue eating experience, try us Monday - Thursday between 2pm & 5pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    278
    160
    80
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Meat-eoric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I decided to try this restaurant having walked passed it many times and noticed it always full to capacity even on (early) week nights. I visited with an old University friend and having low expectations, having erroneously assumed it was just a "cheap student" hangout, I have now walked away with a need to eat more heavenly barbecued dinners!

Great atmosphere in this place and you struggle to get a table even on a Tuesday or Wednesday night. Rock music unobtrusively pumping in the background whilst surrounded by superbly unique decor and the background murmur of happy well fed punters. Good selection of beers on the menu too, including many unexpected North American beers (Dixie, Brooklyn Brown and Founders All Day to name a few).

Shared two little plates for starters - the wonderfully eclectic home-style nachos combined with the sublime rib tips. Don't be fooled by the "little plates" title as we were quite full after this and had to head straight into our amazing Texas Beef Brisket and North Carolina Pulled Pork combos. Wow, just wow. Meat that flaked at the merest suggestion of a fork or knife with two sides that sadly didn't get much look in given the amount of food we had!

Staff excellent, attentive and interactive - seemed to genuinely enjoy working here.

Somewhere I thought I'd hate but have been proved utterly wrong - will definitely be going back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Guest Relations Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Leeds, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
MARVELLOUS!!

Good Morning Andrew and thank you so much for your emphatically positive review of Reds True Barbecue, we sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon

Best Wishes - Gary G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food fit for the God of BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Red's True Barbecue is amazing. The atmosphere is fantastic, the decor is creative, and fitting. It feels like you're in a smokehouse in the Deep South. The food adds to that too. Fresh tasting and tender where it needs to be, Red's is always busy, so if you're going at peak times book! Else you'll be waiting forever. The Menu is not huge but tends to every meat eaters desire, even offering a challenge for those daring enough, and feasts available for big parties (72 hours in advance of course!). I've been here multiple times in the past year, trying something new every time, I have not been disappointed.
The drinks are lovely too, some even served in Mason jars, for an extra special touch, the menu even recommends drinks to go with your meal. The servers seem to really enjoy their jobs, and who can blame them? I would work there if I didn't live 45 minutes away via train (Sometimes I even go to Leeds JUST for Red's).

(There is no outdoor seating, and who would want to seeing there are busy roads just outside).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Guest Relations Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Leeds, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Good morning & thank you for your continued support & glowing review Beckotec, it really is very much appreciated. You've not left me very much to say for once :-D

P.S. We do have outdoor Summer seating which was mothballed mid-September when the weather turned colder. This seating will make a return at some point much warmer than present in 2014.

Best Wishes - Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BBQ heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great atmosphere, great craft beers, great service but above truly awesome bbq food. You can't book a table so it's worth popping in a little earlier than you would ideally want to eat. If there is a wait you can just pop to a nearby pub- any wait will definitely be worth it.

Do not visit if you are on a diet!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Guest Relations Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Leeds, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
It never ceases to amaze me how some people instantly understand the Reds True Barbecue queuing system & why we HAVE to operate in this manner, whilst others wear faces that might suggest that we'd offered them an unpaid opportunity to do all of our washing up for a week without Marigolds, hot water or protective clothing!!

Thank you for understanding Keith, thank you for your review, thank you for your custom & thank you for your support. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Wishes - Gary G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the fourth time we've been here, and have never yet been disappointed. The portions are really generous and the staff very friendly and helpful with choice of drinks and food. Yes, we found it very draughty sitting by the door tonight, but have sat elsewhere in the restaurant and it can get really hot further inside, so I don't really see what the solution could be (apart from air con). We were served very quickly - the Tuesday special was 'Burnt Ends' which was to die for. The other two ordered pulled pork which came with a rather over-dressed coleslaw, which seeped into the pork making a bit of a mushy mess, but was still great, and the 3rd meal was the spare ribs which apparently were 'just enough' - no one left hungry! The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly - music got a bit loud and hearing one another became a problem but I guess no one is there for a long lingering meal. Will keep going - it is a very popular choice in our family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Guest Relations Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Leeds, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Good Morning Fiona, Good Morning Tony, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review & for your continued support of Reds True Barbecue. We truly appreciate all custom, but repeat custom occupies a special place in our collective hearts.

I'm so glad that you value the incredible Burnt Ends as much as I do, they're one of the best kept secrets on the menu so thank you for helping to spread the word of 'Burnt End Tuesdays'.

The evening was indeed cold & unfortunately, being as busy as we were, the door did open at a high rate unconducive to retaining heat. The air con was running at full speed though so be advised that we do take customer comfort very seriously at all times.

We sincerely look forward to seeing your family again soon, very best wishes.

Gary G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's True Barbecue - Leeds also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Red's True Barbecue - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red's True Barbecue - Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.