We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukhothai South Parade Leeds

Sukhothai South Parade Leeds
15 South Parade, Leeds LS1 5QS, England
0113 2422795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Sukhothai are purveyors of the finest Thai cuisine. This city centre branch is open daily serving authentic thai cuisine ranging from Street Food to Royal Thai Cuisine, all cooked in a glass fronted theatre kitchen.
Darrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The best Thai meal we've had coupled with fantastic service and atmosphere equals the perfect restaurant :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    120
    22
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Try This Thai....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Went yesterday with a 7.30pm Friday night reservation. Was asked to take a seat in waiting area & within 5mins shown to our table.
Drinks were ordered & we perused the menu. We went for the sharing starter platter & were allowed to substitute...so went for dumplings, chicken toast, prawns in batter & fishcakes.
Mains we had Weeping Tiger, Thai Green Chicken Curry with noodles & coconut rice....just wow...faultless. Large portions so they kindly packed our leftovers. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great chicken satays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I find it hard to find good Thai restaurants and it's always exciting to test a different place. The staff were super friendly and efficient. I was slightly daunted by the menu as it had a lot of choice. I considered trying a set menu to have variety, but was put off as it reminded me of a typical Chinese set menu. We decided to try separate dishes and share. Being huge fans of papaya salad, it was a must. We weren't disappointed, it was delicious, but as visitors of Thailand, we are used to it being much spicier. We understood most people wouldn't like too much chilli, but maybe you should be asked upon ordering. The biggest shock for me was the chicken satays. I really was unsure about ordering them, as it's a bit of a safe boring choice. They were amazing. The best satays I've ever tasted. The meat was so tender, perfectly seasoned and cooked. The dips that accompanied them were great too. We then went on to share the Pearls of Sukhothai prawn dish which was excellent, 4 huge prawns in a fab sauce with sticky rice. We also a shared pad thai which has always been a favourite of ours. This was nice, but a little sweeter than we like it. But overall a great meal. We were only visiting Leeds for the night, which is unfortunate coz we'd love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food - inatentive waiters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

food..excellent..however did ask not to have any chilli as am allergic..and got 5 large pieces!
will go again & try second time

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Sukothai has been consistently good, every time we've visited. The food is tasty and the atmosphere - though busy - is welcoming.

The icing on the cake, however, has to be the service. Each time we've visited we've had the same waitress and wouldn't be at all surprised if this was at her insistence. Not only is she great at her job but she's so warm and friendly it feels like we're eating at a friend's home. For my partner's birthday, unbeknownst to any of us, she even had the staff surprise him with a special dessert.

All-in-all, one of my favourite places to eat in Leeds :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai South Parade Leeds also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sukhothai South Parade Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukhothai South Parade Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.