We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best thai in leeds ... and maybe the world. Go for the Sunday buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukhothai South Parade Leeds

Sukhothai South Parade Leeds
15 South Parade, Leeds LS1 5QS, England
0113 2422795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sukhothai are purveyors of the finest Thai cuisine. This city centre branch is open daily serving authentic thai cuisine ranging from Street Food to Royal Thai Cuisine, all cooked in a glass fronted theatre kitchen.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best thai in leeds ... and maybe the world. Go for the Sunday buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Been coming to this restaurant on a Sunday with my family every other month for around 2 years now (we love thai). They do buffet on Sundays around £15 pp which is amazing value because you get top notch restaurant quality food.

I would recommend the fish cake for starter, with peanut sauce or sweet and sour sauce. For mains I always get the slow roast pork - it's in the corner, lots of people miss it - it's deliciously flavoured in some amazing sauce. I'm not keen on spicy foods so I usually get noodles but this time I tried their mild tofu curry which was lovely and I'll definitely have again. For dessert I always queue up to get a thai pancake filled with banana and chocolate sauce. Yum.

The atmosphere is buzzing on a Sunday evening. It didn't used to be but now the word has got out about how amazing it is and now everyone's coming in! Hurrah! Would definitely recommend booking a table beforehand, as we had to wait 20-30 minutes, but of course it was worth the wait and you can sit and have a drink while you wait.

If it's your birthday they do a song with drums, it sounds thai, and it's really good fun. The staff are lovely and so polite. Don't know where they get their clothes but they dress like a smart bunch, and definitely give it an authentic thai feel!

Definitely going to keep on going!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    137
    31
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow! Such a beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our daughter recommended this restaurant to us on a recent trip to Leeds. We were treated to a meal here on a very busy Saturday night. A table had been booked and we ate in the lower level of the restaurant. The decor is very beautiful, as everywhere there are lovely things to look at including water fountains on the walls and gorgeous ornaments and mirrors. The toilet rooms are amazing too and very clean. This restaurant is very impressive, one of the loveliest looking we have ever been to! The menu is very extensive and full of variety. Even though it was very very busy we didn't have to wait long for drinks or food and everything was well-presented and fresh looking. Our food tasted lovely and we were happy with our choices. All the staff are very welcoming and they all look beautiful in their traditional costumes. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. Mariel in particular was very friendly and made us feel very special. Our daughter's boyfriend proposed to her at the end of the meal and it was a brilliant end to a fantastic evening! We definitely would love to go back. Pity it is a long way from where we live! Could you open one near us? :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Thai in a Long Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We ate here on a Friday night and it was very, very busy - we are glad we booked. At the end of the meal the manager came over to speak to us. He chatted to us about where we were from and asked where we had heard of the restaurant. When we said through Trip Advisor, he joking asked us to write a good review. Well I'm more than happy to based on our evening. The interior is luxurious and tables are far enough apart to give a little privacy. We started with the mixed satay platter starter for two. This was not only delicious but a very generous serving, This option seemed very popular (and you can see plenty of pictures on it on this site). For mains my wife had a stir fried duck and I had a stir fried chicken with sticky rice. Both dished were lovely. There was a good selection of wine at reasonable prices. We were too stuffed for pudding. Next time we are in Leeds we will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAKEFIELD
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had Sunday buffet lunch at Sukhothai, the staff were very attentive and the food was excellent, all the dish's were very tasty and fresh. This is now our favorite Thai. We will be gooing back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were celebrating my daughter's 10 birthday with a shopping trip to Leeds and her favourite food, Thai. The food is always outstanding at Sukhothai and the restaurant is beautiful. It was the children's first visit and they were totally wowed by the whole experience. I have never seen my 6 year old eat so much! ! A must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai South Parade Leeds also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sukhothai South Parade Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukhothai South Parade Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.