We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super "Set Meals" Super Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Sea Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
North Sea Chinese Restaurant
40 Town Street, Stanningley, Pudsey | Pudsey, Leeds LS28 6EZ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,306 restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super "Set Meals" Super Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What can I say about a restaurant that gets everything right. Ambience , food quality, wine list, waiter service par ecellence, authentic Chinese beer. Friendly people, nothing is too much trouble, customer satisfaction is paramount

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    25
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Myself and my family try to visit here as much as we can and we always have a great time.The food is amazing and the best dining experience we ever get.My favorite is duck in plum sauce,its so succulent it makes your mouth water.The staff are very friendly especially the manager Alvin.Anthony and G are like friends,i would come here every week if financesallowed.Keep up the good work guys.Anita,paul and james x

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Alvin and his staff always make you feel at home and it's as if we are visiting friends. We always joke that the food is always the same - and it is, always consistently good, freshly made. It's not the cheapest of Chinese restaurants but the value for money is excellent. It's always served in good time with spaces in between if we wish. Crispy duck in plum sauce is yummy and the platter of prawn toast, spring rolls, another crispy prawn parcel, which I can't remember the name of! And some seaweed on the side, together with a dipping sauce. My mouth is watering now and I don't think it will be too long before we visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A birthday meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My two daughters, my cousin and I decided to visit this restaurant for a birthday treat - it was one that we use to visit many years ago in it's heyday but had not been for so many years =- we did not know what to expect. The decor is a little tired and the restaurant was only half full on a Friday evening in July. We were shown to our table and from that moment were served by the very pleasant and friendly waiters. We decided to order the special banquet at £24 per head and what an amazing meal that was. There was a choice of chicken or chilli soup - so we ordered both and shared. This was followed by a selection of wan tons, spring rolls and two types of ribs = all delicious. We then had the crispy duck in pancakes which gave us three each and were yummy. Then we went onto the mains which was five different dishes and special fried rice - plenty for us to dip in and try everything and again averything was very nice. After 2.5 hours we were all well and truely full. When the waiter found out it was my daughter's birthday he brought an ice cream with a candle in and happy birthday was sung. Well done to everyone at the North Sea for lovely food and a lovely evening - the interior just needs a bit of a spruce up and you would be awarded excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Familiar faces !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Since Lucky Dragon closed we have failed to find a really good Chinese in Leeds. We decided to try North Sea as it is several years since our last visit and saw the reviews on Tripadvisor were pretty good.

The staff seemed familiar and by the end of the night we established one had previously worked at Lucky Dragon and another at the recently closed Regent,

The service was good - efficient, polite with just the right amount of chat to make you feel welcome.

The menu had a few things we hadn't had before so it was good to try something a bit different. The quality and flavour of the food was excellent, our only grumble being the sizzling fillet steak in OK sauce, for £13.50 there was not as much meat as we usually get at other restaurants.

Whilst we were there a large hen party arrived, the restaurant had carefully positioned the party to ensure other guests were not impacted, they also had the party details displayed on the tvs so we knew who they were. The party was no problem at all and just added to the atmosphere.

All in all a very enjoyable evening, and one we will probably repeat despite the fact it isn't local for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Sea Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to North Sea Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sea Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.