We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food and great beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friends of Ham

Friends of Ham
4 New Station Street | Leeds, Leeds LS1 5DL, England
+44 113 242 0275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 1,446 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Friends of Ham is a Bar & Charcuterie situated in Leeds City Centre. A buzzy Continental-style cafe bar that has recently been named as the Best Place to Drink in the UK in The Observer Food Monthly Awards and undergone a major expansion. Specialising in Italian & Spanish cured meats, the finest cheeses from around the world, sherry and wines; we also serve up craft beer by the bucket-load with 14 taps and over 150 bottles.
Leeds, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quality food and great beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a quick lunch which turned into a couple of hours chilling in this fab venue. Shabby chic which actually is chic for a change. Very relaxing place - comfy sofas. Huge selection of bottled international beers and a few on cask. Superb mixed charcuterie platter and beautiful Gorgonzola, artichoke and prosciutto salad. The platters are a little pricey but large portions of quality meats. Loved it. Only slight negative was that we had to wait quite a while for our food despite it being quiet. Didn't mind though as it gave me a chance to have another wheat beer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    101
    25
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place - lovely food, wine & beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I called in Friends of Ham on a Friday evening and loved the place. When we arrived it was very busy but we managed to get a table very quickly.
Our intention was to have a couple of drinks and some of their wonderful ham and cheeses. Not quite sure why other reviewers are expecting a restaurant as this is not? It is a great bar that serves lovely food that you can graze on whilst you drink.
We had a mix of platters with extra cheese & meats all of which was amazing. Food is served on wooden boards and the staff are great at menu recommendations - much appreciated as everything sounds & looks so good!
Great choice of beers & sherry but limited choice of wine - however I'd be surprised if you couldn't find something to your liking?
Overall I'd recommend Friends of Ham to anyone that wants to spend time with friends trying excellent beers / wine whilst snacking on a superb Tapas style menu in a great atmosphere...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stumbled across this place today by chance, never heard of it before (not being a local) was drawn in by the name. Great meat & cheese, good atmosphere. The air dried beef (think Parma ham) is worth a visit alone. Top spot for a lazy afternoon or whatever time am suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Nice bar that sells food, mainly meat on wooden boards, the main room is downstairs. They've got some interesting beers in stock. Frequented by people in there twenties mainly. I keep going back. The scotch eggs are excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“What a great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have visited this bar since just after it opened, This place serves only real ale and the best Romanian Pinot Noir I have tasted. Alway full to the door but a worthwhile experience. The delight is the Scotch Eggs especially the Black Pudding one, fantastic hams and cheeses. This is possibly the best bar/food experience in Leeds, the staff are knowledgeable and very friendly, Its on the entrance to the station and an ideal place to call before catching my train home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends of Ham also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Friends of Ham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends of Ham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.