We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apauling service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke of Wellington

The Duke of Wellington
Main Street | East Keswick, Leeds Ls17 9db, England
01937573259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #529 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Eclectic, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Apauling service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Visited the duke last night with 2 friends. We had booked a table. The pub decor is nice. We ordered our food and 45 mins later were still waiting. I asked the waitress as she passed by ignoring us if we were going to get any food and she went and fetched it. Another couple who had entered and been seated at the same time as us had just started their deserts after a full 3 course meal. The food was nice. After we finished our deserts the plates were left on the table and we had to ask the bar maid for the bill as the waitress had gone home.
Overall a very disappointing night.
Good food and nice surroundings we're let down by rude uninterested staff!
Such a shame!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went with freinds to see if the food was better than last visit. We discovered that a new Manager and Chef had been employed.The service and paticularly the 10 oz sirloins were terrific.It was fairly quiet in the \restaurant ,so we suggest you give it another go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had spent rather too long working in the garden last Sunday,so decided to go for our Sunday Lunch at The a Duke Of Wellington,it was rather late in the day so we were not expecting much,but we were pleasently surprised.
The food was hot and tastey ,and there was a good choice of meat and fresh vegetables,the staff were busy but still very polite and helpful

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A curates egg”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We went on a Thursday for the quiz night. The pub, as a pub, is excellent. The little girl behind the bar could not have been more helpful or friendly. The Journeyman was excellently kept.

The food was a disaster.

We shared a crispy duck in pancakes for starter, The duck was obviously a confited leg that had been chopped and was cold, the pancakes were ovbiously from the freezer and the edges were crumbling.

My Yorkshire cassolet included a confit duck leg that was hard (!) and belly pork that was ALL fat, the sausages were OK though (can't do much wrong with sausages). The sauce was a mystery, it seemed to be an exotic fusion of a can of chopped tomatoes and a can of cannelloni beans, all artistically topped with a layer of dry, uncooked cous cous which, over the course of the meal, absorbed any juice present to make the plate an unappetising sludge.

My partners sea bass, mash and salad appeared to have had the dregs of the olive oil bottle splashed all over it (Jamie Oliver has a lot to answer for!") and looked greasy.

The website makes a great thing of their Kiwi chef - maybe it was his night off, if not then send him back down under.

Its a shame really the beer, the pub and the pub staff were great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Really refreshing change from microwave pinged food. Traditional food and friendly service. Keep up the good work guys

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke of Wellington also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.