We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bingley Arms

Bingley Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bingley Arms
Save
You added Bingley Arms to your Saves list
37 Church Lane, Leeds, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Leeds B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went today for Sunday lunch with my fiance and her parents on a bit of a whim. We'd heard about the good food at the oldest pub in England and it wasn't too far away.

We went for the 3 course Sunday menu and were not disappointed. Each of the starters arrived quickly, were light, tasty and well presented. These were followed by hearty portions of local meats with mountains of chips and 7 types of veg. We had the game pie, the pheasant and the lamb shank and all were delicious. I cheekily asked for an extra Yorkshire pudding as the pheasant came without one and it was quickly served with laughter.

We rounded of with fudge cake, cheesecake and lemon pot and we just about managed to put these away being so happily stuffed.

Some reviews complain about the service but we could not fault it. From the moment we rang up to grab a table, all the way through the meal until we left our servers were friendly, helpful and really professional. they were quick too as we only waited a moment or two for extra drinks (or Yorkshire puds).

I would 100% recommend this pub for family meals, a romantic lunch or a beer after work and we will definitely go back... we are even cotemplating Christmas or Boxing Day there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedsugden11, Owner at Bingley Arms, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind Response x It is always nice to serve nice people x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just when we thought the food couldn't get any better ... Outstanding Sunday dinner from the service to the excellent cheese board
The value for money the bingley arms gives to all it's customers is second to none 11 out of ten stars.
This place is a must
Thank you GED Kay Ryan Hollie Katie and all the staff works so very hard in the kitchens especially Stuart xxx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our second yearly visit, having had a excellent meal last year when we were in the area, this time it being extra special as it was a 50th birthday celebration.What a difference a year makes, and not to the better.Although aware of the special night as champagne had been ordered, we were seated in a very small dining area which was depressing and sadly in need of decorating, with another table of eight diners who were so near to us that they enjoyed the surprise speeches made for our friends birthday.The menu bared no resemblance to that on their website, and overall the meals and presentation were very poor.
The mains ordered, after a struggle to find anything exciting off the menu and specials board were gammon steak, thin small and presented with a' slab' of fresh pineapple, scampi, bbq ribs which was so obviously out of a vacuum pack, pale anemic looking and a whole garlic baguette plonked on the plate !, the portion of steak and ale pie came sitting in a congealed pool of instant gravy with of all things a soggy yorkshire pudding. The veg was overcooked, and the dish of chips were overcooked and dark brown. Needless to say no one ordered desserts and we paid up and got out. On the good side apart from the one who had a unappetizing prawn cocktail, the rest of us had the stilton mushrooms as starters, which were excellent, although again the same stick it on the plate presentation as with the mains. The service was good and the staff very polite and yes we were asked if the meal was ok but who wants to spoil a special night for a special friend.When in Leeds again we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros: Food quality good, prices very reasonable, staff friendly, large tiered off-street beer garden, interesting history to the building, good beers

Cons: None really

Conclusions: Just what we wanted, perfect on a sunny afternoon. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great Pub, Enjoyed A great friday evening here with my family! Buzzing atmosphere, excellent service & good Quality home cooked meals. The bar offers a great selection of local ales, and extensive wine list. The staff informed us that The pub is officially "England's oldest Inn" dating back to 953ad. It is full of character & history, the wood burning fires make it very warm & welcoming. We also noticed that the upstairs restaurant has recently opened offering Thai cuisine, something we are looking forward to trying on our visit. Can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate at the Trencherman's Bowl Restaurant with some friends who'd come to visit for a few days. We were welcomed with a lovely smile by a waitress and were shown to our table downstairs. The food was excellent and the service great. It was obvious we were not locals (we are all from the London/Essex area although my husband and I retired to South Yorkshire) we were made to feel very welcome and all the staff were extremely friendly. At the end of the meal we were even given a little tour by the Manager of the oldest part of the Pub. Will DEFINITELY be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My family and I went here for a birthday meal. The food was nice enough but the service was terrible. We waited about 30 minutes for the food to come and then when we had finished we sat for 15 minutes waiting for the table to be cleared. This was finally done but then they just ignored us for another 30 minutes before we gave up and left without even being asked if we wanted to order any desserts oe more drinks which we did. This may be understandable if they were busy but there were only 2 other tables there!
It seems as if they only serve locals well as one of the other tables obviously knew the staff and they were getting everything straight away. They ordered their starters and were being served their main courses while we were sat there being completely ignored.
When we gave up and went to the bar to ask to pay we told the Barman about the terrible service and he wasn't bothered in the slightest.He basically just shrugged as if to say tough.
We certainly won't ever be going back there and would not recommend it. It turned out to be the worst birthday night out ever!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bingley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingley Arms

Address: 37 Church Lane, Leeds, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's Oldest Inn 953AD. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bingley Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.