We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, friendly staff and lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bingley Arms

Bingley Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bingley Arms
Save
You added Bingley Arms to your Saves list
37 Church Lane, Leeds, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Leeds B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, friendly staff and lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I looked up this place before i visited it, reviews hit n miss but i found this to a complete gem. there was a local band playing when we came usually not into that thing but they were really good and had a excellent meal to go with it, great selection of popular and local ale. Very friendly locals and will be returning in the very near future. I would advise others to give it a try also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

we had hurd that the bingley arms in bardsey leeds had reopened the restaurant upstairs. so we booked in for a meal it was a thursday night , and wow what a place to eat in it was fab very oldy worldy . we were met by andrew who showed us to ower table what a nice guy, he told us all about the bingley and the new restaurant he was the perfect host formal but cheeky with it .the menu was very good and not over price we ordered with andrew and when the food came it was perfect i had the lamb shank it was so tender it fell of the bone my partner had the pork perfect . the night was perfect. i will be telling my every one to try it its nice to see the bingley back on the map and i will be back . i wish andrew and the team well . what a gem and thats both of them

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Bingley Arms seems to be getting back on it's feet after somewhat losing the plot over the last year or so. Menu's attached to heavy roof slates, silly prices and the indian restaurant have all gone.
They've gone back to serving good quality pub food at sensible prices and for that I can't fault the place. Long may it continue!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

i took my girlfriend here on a monday night with the intention of eating in the bingley arms as i heard it was the oldest pub in england. We arrived and were told that food was not served on a monday in the pub. However, we were referred to the upstairs Indian restaurant within the building and I had the best indian food I have ever had with the best and most attentive service I have had in an indian resturant. i would recommend the indian resturant without a doubt. the actual pub seems a bit localish but the staff were very friendly and apologetic about the lack of food on the monday and were very pleasant. the bar area of the bingley arms looked very nice and i will return to have a meal here too

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rj2010
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I visited this restaurant to enjoy a romantic meal after choosing from a few in the area. We booked a table in the english part of the restaurant ( they also have an indian part) and when we arrived , we went to the bar to get a drink. We asked the barman where we would be eating as it was not very clear where to go. He took us to a small room at the far end of the bar where there were 4 empty tables, the room was cold and uninviting and the menu was on the wall in the other room. He left us there, said to choose what we wanted and one of the girls would be there in a while to take our order. We were not happy and had no intention of staying there to eat, so we drank up and left. We found that the pub was a locals pub and felt very much like outsiders when we walked in. The staff seemed friendly but very young and there was no way that we would be staying on our own in a little side room to have dinner. Won't be going back and it's a shame because the location is just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

The Bingley arms is a beautiful old traditional pub - from the outside!
the interior is some what dark and not very welcoming, the staff are friendly enough, but all look like part time school kids. the garden is nice.
we went for a sunday lunch, we were told on our previous visit by the manager that its chock a block on a sunday, with fresh lunches, a good atmosphere etc so when my dad came to visit i thought i would take him there!
we arrived, we were the only people sitting in the entire restaurant!
the food was crap, it wasn't fresh at all and we were really disappointed, i won't go there again.
it is a real shame because with the setting and history this pub could be a diamond, but i wouldn't recommend it for food, or a drink really, it feels like everyone stops and stares when you walk in the door.
not good

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

The Bingley Arms is reported to be the oldest pub in England. History of the pub dates back to 905AD and there is evidence all around the pub which proves this.

The Landlord is a wealth of information regarding the pub and it's history and is more than willing to share his knowledge with anyone who is willing to listen.

The pub is ideally positioned between Leeds and the Historic city of York. Well worth a visit if you are in either of these fine destinations.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bingley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingley Arms

Address: 37 Church Lane, Leeds, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's Oldest Inn 953AD. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bingley Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.