We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Century Way | Thorpe Park, Leeds LS15 8ZB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Batley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good - almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked a winter package of dinner, bed and breakfast with champagne for the excellent price of £149. Oddly, I had to buy a gift voucher from a third party provider then redeem it, rather than book the package directly. The stay was for my wife and my 40th birthday and it was nice to have birthday cards for each of us in the room when we arrived.

Room was very nice - design a bit odd though. Why design a room with a step down to the sofa area? Nice to have fresh milk in the fridge and a bottle of water each. Champagne was very good.

The spa treatments (booked and paid for separately) were lovely and relaxing and not at all intimidating for novices. Pool is a good size so you're not constantly reaching the end and turning round.

Dinner was excellent. The package allows £35 per head for food. Drinks have to be paid for as an extra but they were reasonably priced. My pint of bitter was £3.40 I think. We didn't quite use our food allowance, but we had no room for anything else.

So why 4 star? I'd probably like to give 4½ - but just a couple of things stop it being a 5 (i.e. perfect).
For a recently built luxury hotel I would like the bathroom mirror to be heated so that it doesn't steam up after a shower. And who designed the step down to the sofa? Pointless!
Breakfast wasn't great. The fried eggs were solid, bacon cold (and a bit thick for my liking), tomato barely cooked and it's not serve yourself so you can't be totally greedy... On the other hand the baked beans and sausage (often cold in other hotels) were boiling hot. The bread was standard sliced - I would have expected some posh bread options.

But I'm sure we'll be back. It's only a 15 minute drive from home but a world away - especially when the children are being looked after!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay, all your comments will be shared with the team and I will be reviewing your comments about your breakfast experience. The thoughts about heated mirrors will be shared with the maintenance team as we are currently looking at a programme to reinvest in the hotel. Perhaps this may be something we add in to our discussion pot, so thank you. I am pleased that on the whole you have an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, as you are only 15 minutes away, please don't leave it too long, the Restaurant and Bar would be perfect for a night off cooking!

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    142
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
105
171
9
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights mid Jan. The whole hotel was very spacious, lots of parking spaces unfortunately there was a parking charge but we didnt have to pay due to the fact there was so much snow that they couldnt shut the barriers as people wouldnt be able to stop.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and it took us under 60 seconds to check in and get the key.
The rooms are very spacious and clean, we also got complimentary robes. The bathroom was lovely, very modern, there is a walk in shower and a separate bath. There is nothing bad i can say about the room apart from our thermostat didnt work but luckily it was stuck on a nice temperature.

Whilst visiting we made full use of the spa, the changing rooms were superb, fully secure lockers and everything was very clean. The spa itself had everything but was in need of some small refurbishment to the whirlpool and the seating area which had gotten damp and had a funny odor. I think we must have gone at the wrong time because the whirlpool was very cold along with the pool being very cold, im not sure if this was a fault or not but it wasnt too nice.
Me and my partner booked a full body massage each, this was very nice, the staff again were very friendly, we had complimentary coffee, a range of teas and hot chocolate. There was also water in the relaxation room. The massage rooms were very nice and relaxing, there is also a waterbed in each room which you lie on during your massage. The prices were rather high but would pay it again.

We didnt use the restaurant in the hotel due to the prices being extremely high! We ate at a harvester just 5 min walk away which was very nice!

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we would happily return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for my partner's birthday, used the spa, had a massage and a meal. Everything about the stay was brilliant, all the staff were very friendly, we were given a free upgrade on our room, to a four poster bedroom! Massage was lovely, spa has great facilities and the meal was amazing. We wanted to go back to our room after our main, so we had our dessert brought to our room! Booked a package stay and was WELL worth the money, would happily go back this weekend if I had the money!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have just returned today from stopping at this Hotel and I am already trying to organise another break here.

Myself and 3 Girl-Friends booked a 'Girls Night In' and from walking into the Hotel to leaving this morning it was PERFECT!!! I have not seen any other Hotels offering this package but it is a MUST. The price was very reasonable too for whats included.

This Hotel opened in 2002 but you would think it was a new Hotel as eveything is spotless, modern and very inviting. The service and Customer Care is extremely high which makes such a difference. The quality of food is excellent and the Breakfast was amazing.

The Spa was wonderful I felt I was abroad, with people chilling out around the different areas and in the evening when all the pool lights were on it looked great. The showers in the Spa had everything and much more than I ever expected.

The rooms are of a very high standard too, the linen and towels were like new and the rooms were spotless. Also little things in the room like Dressing Gowns, Slippers, China mugs all these extras made it so special and which is why I cant wait to return.

It is perfectly located just off the motorway and not far to travel into Leeds centre.

It was snowing last night and as we left the staff had made a huge Snowman at the entrance of the Hotel. It was a very nice gesture. Thank you to all the staff....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I was here for Business but have stated several times before with hubby. Just off M1 and in a business park but the inside more than makes up for that. Fab staff who are happy the help and answer any questions. Room lovely and comfortable and clean.
Food was lovely - used conference facilities this time which were great. Lunch was fabulous!
Would definiately recommend.
Didn't get opportunity to use Spa this time but have used before and it's just gorgeous.
Whether it's for business or pleasure a fab hotel with great food and service :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

stayed recently at Thorpe park, lovely hotel great food with very good service, a little expensive though. breakfast was hot and plentiful, reception check in very impressed. rooms clean and spacious, will stay again but after I save up!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have not stayed here but have been several times for meals.
The food and service are of a very high standard and this relatively newly built hotel is clean welcoming and attractive. Whether on business or socialising if you are in the area this should be near the top af anyone's list

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa

Address: 1150 Century Way | Thorpe Park, Leeds LS15 8ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#3 Family Hotel in Leeds
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#6 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorpe Park Hotel and Spa is a popular 4 star hotel in Leeds. We're perfectly positioned to discover all that the cosmopolitan city of Leeds has to offer along with the delights of Harrogate, and the Yorkshire Dales. We're a stylish, contemporary hotel known for our attention to detail. With a stylish spa and One Rosette Restaurant there's plenty to keep you busy in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorpe Park Hotel And Spa
Thorpe Park Hotel Leeds
Thorpe Park Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.