We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Weetwood Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Weetwood Hall to your Saves list
Weetwood Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Otley Road | Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The hotel is an average large business hotel best suited to holding conferences and weddings. The service is impersonal and not particularly friendly. We werent made to feel anything special or valued. I had to go looking for a member of staff at breakfast. There were a number of large events on during our stay which seemed to fully occupy the staff and leave no time to deal with other guests. The car park was always full and difficult to find a space with long walks back. One of the evenings had a loud disco playing until well after midnight directly below our room. we asked to be moved but were told there were no available rooms. We didn't get much sleep with the music and then the loud drunken party goers either talking while smoking at the front of the hotel or staggering around the bedroom corridors. The access to a gym is poor with restricted bus shuttle times to a neighbouring gym - it's not in-house. We stayed in Weetwood Hall to avoid the possible noise of a city centre hotel, but check whether they have a wedding or conference on as this will mean lots of noisy activity which is not well managed by staff. It was a disappointing stay in an average business hotel whose customer service standards are lacking.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    132
    80
    26
    12
See reviews for
58
117
9
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had a wonderful 2 days, the wedding was fantastic and we couldn't fault the food or the service.
Unfortunately it was spoilt on booking out. On booking in our card was taken. Usual. And we notice that the payment was taken out on booking, plus an extra £40? I went to reception to hand the key cards in and was asked for payment, i said money had already been taken out of our account on the friday, the receptionist told me this was impossible, so i paid in cash, whilst my husband went to the bank and checked. We presented the receptionist with the print out and proof and she refused to believe us. At this stage the manager was called, wedding guests were looking at us and the manager said it would be investigated. By the insistence of my husband he demanded the cash back, and was reluctantly given the cash back, although they still had the excess that they had added on the Friday. they took our phone number and said they would ring us today. the call hasn't come. they now owe us money. Not a good end to my daughters wedding.
the family room we were given was stifling;y hot and overlooked the skip. the bed was a three quarter and we didn't sleep for two nights.
NOT HAPPY. NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Wow! This hotel was HOT, HOT, HOT ............. I wilted away during my stay and came home 3 stone lighter!!!! ;) Sadly there was NO AIR CONDITIONING, which made for a few sticky and uncomfortably hot nights. A fan was provided, which would have helped a little but the cable was so short, you couldn't really position it in such a way so as to have any real benefit whilst sleeping. Although the windows in the room opened, I didn't really feel safe having them wide open throughout the night and thought that perhaps some catches could be added so the windows could be left open a little bit, but the security risks of doing so would be minimised. I raised this as an issue on one of the hotels "Customer Satisfaction" questionnaires, and also suggested that perhaps an extension cable could be provided in the rooms. A reply has been received from their Customer Service Manager, which states that this issue has been passed onto their maintenance team!

My husband and I had 3 nights at "Weetwood Hall" (Fri, Sat & Sun) and apart from the minor issues raised above, did enjoy our stay. We had a "superior double" room on the 1st floor, which was large, clean and well appointed. It appeared that the room had been refurbished to a high standard in recent times and it looked very nice. Sadly, the bathroom had not been updated and although it was clean, it seems a shame that the room was super, but the bathroom looked dated.

The bed was HUGE (6ft) and very comfortable, with nice linens.Towels were changed daily, if needs be, and my request for additional towels was dealt with courteously and efficiently. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room, and there was also a small fridge with complimentary bottles of mineral water.

Within the room was an LCD TV but it was sooooo quiet, we had a job to hear it when we switched on to watch the news. Despite turning the volume up to full, it was still quiet. This issue was also raised on the hotes "Customer Satisfaction" questionnaires and in response we were advised "We can adjust the TV volume for you, all you need to do is to request that this is done when booking" so now you know!!!

It is noted that some guests have commented on the poor quality of food served at this hotel in both the restaurant and pub. I cannot comment on this as I didn't eat in these areas. However, the food that we had at breakfast was truly excellent. There were all the usual suspects (both Continental and Full English) and every day, a choice of three different locally produced sausages, which were truly delicious! Top marks awarded for breakfast as it was very nice indeed.

On both the Friday and Saturday, weddings were being held at the hotel and on Sunday afternoon, a 50th birthday party was going on. Although there were lots of guests mingling in the hotel lobby, we were not disturbed by any noise from these functions but I guess it does depend on the guests who were attending!

We enjoyed our stay and if we were in the area again, would be happy to return to the hotel again, or to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We have stayed here before - it's an ideal base for concerts for Harewood House, and for anyone that wants to explore Leeds, and some beautiful parts of Yorkshire. But while it has the location, the nice grounds and setting, and all the frills that a good four star hotel has, it fails to come up to standard in almost every way.

Firstly, watch what you are charged both for rooms and extras. Prepay for a special rate, and if you are daft enough to check in with a different card to the one used for your already paid booking, they will charge that as well. We ended up paying for four nights instead of two, and are waiting for resolution and reimbursement as promised.

Next - check your room account carefully. One bottle of supermarket plonk at £19.50 was charged twice. Drinks vary in price depending on who serves you, and the bar staff are at best indifferent and disinterested - certainly not competent.

Go out for the day and expect your room to have been cleaned? Unlucky! Ours was done, under durress at 4.30pm, when we wanted to return to shower and change to be out for 5.30. Oh, and if people have room service food, expect the dirty plates to stay in the corridor for one, if not two days!

A place like this should be air conditioned - it is not, and they supply a desk fan thrown in a wardrobe to cool you down. The nights we were there were not hot, but the room temperature was unbearable so the fan had to run all night, and the windows were open all night. Not good when you are by the Leeds Ring Road, and on the main descent in Leeds Bradford Airport.

And worst of all is that the hotel clearly has to cater for weddings and parties whenever it can to survive. Well on the first night we were there, we suffered a wedding that was like a chavs' convention, with guests and their kids running riot in all the public areas, toilets overflowing, and all generally making a nuisance of themselves. Not totally the hotel's fault, but if they want to market it as a weekend break location they should keep party hotel users away from the public areas.

One good point - the breakfast. And they actually have the good sense to keep those staying for weddings away from the main guests. Good thinking!

All in all very disappointing. The customer services manager asked if we wanted to go back (they were offering a voucher as some sort of apology). The answer is a categorical no.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Came upon good recommendations left with huge dissapointment.

Food was not as expected on the menu, described as "delisiously yorkshire" when none of the said ingreadients came from said Yorkshire.

Some guests ordered steaks cooked at different levels none were cooked correctly and the quality of the cuts of meat were sub standared to say the least.

When questioned waiting staff, assistant chef (as the named chef on the menu did not cook the food, quite strange) he admitted that the meat was sub standared and should not have being served.

Received spotted dick instead of treacle sponge although waiting staff assured me said spotted dick was treacle sponge, came with no treacle and lots of sultanas i might add.

Advertised on menu as strawberriers and merrangue in cream, we recieved a quarter of a strawberry and white choc on the merrangue, not what we ordered folks.....

Waiting staff inep and disinterested through - out, when meal ended still had starters left on the table.......

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
We are very sorry that this guest had a poor experience at Weetwood Hall and that the food and service fell short of our usual high standards. We have taken on board all comments and undertaken a full investigation of the complaints. We have also been in touch with the guest and other members of the party to personally offer our apologies. However, we are upset that it is suggested that our "food should come with a health warning" as this implies we do not maintain the strictest Health & Safety standards, which is far from the case. Peter Chubb - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Went to the restaurant for a meal with family & friends for 18th Birthday party. The service was none existant and the food terrible. Over priced for awful food. The hotel it self was very nice. Would not go to the restaurant again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed here for a week as I was on a training course. in fact it seemed that the vast majority of people were there for business. The hotel certainly looks impressive and stands in pleasant grounds. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

My room was a standard double and as such it was pretty much as I expected it to be. TV, internet, iron/trouser press, good sized bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities. The internet was free and wireless. It was accessed by obtaining a card from reception with a user name and password printed on the attached paper slip.

Cleaning staff did an excellent job as the room was always immaculate when I returned every afternoon. Perhaps I was lucky, but my room was fairly quiet. One of my colleagues complained about the noise from some external vent units located near his window, but was moved without fuss. Another colleague has a room overlooking the courtyard where the hotel's pub was located. He found it noisy early evening, but it wasn't a problem when he returned later on to go to bed.

Now onto the food. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice. Sadly this didn't extend to the evening meal. There was an extremely limited choice and the prices were rediculous. £22 for a fillet steak and half a dozen chips? Not only was it expensive but the food was either over-cooked/burnt or under-cooked. I waited almost an hour for my steak to arrive on the first evening and the restaurant/brasserie was deserted (for good reason it seems). They always forgot to bring the peppercorn sauce and my colleague got a different meal to the one he ordered. But at this point was so hungry that he ate it anyway. Most of my colleagues went out to eat as they refused to eat at the hotel.

Another of my colleagues reserved a room without breakfast by mistake, so had to pay for breakfast seperately. £30 a day!!!!

Overall, this is a decent hotel. But whatever you do, find somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weetwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weetwood Hall

Address: Otley Road | Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Leeds
#15 Business Hotel in Leeds
#16 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Weetwood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within nine acres of woodland and gardens and built around a 17th Century Manor House, Weetwood Hall offers extensive four-star hotel services and facilities, along with a conference centre. There are 114 en-suite bedrooms, offering a variety of different styles of accommodation from junior double to feature bedrooms. Weetwood Hall also offers three dining options: Woodlands Suite, Brasserie and the award winning Stables Pub which has Cask Marque accreditation for its real ales. There is extensive onsite free parking and high speed internet. Complimentary leisure facilities are available to our residents at the nearby Cookridge Hall Health & Fitness Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Weetwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weetwood Hall Leeds
Weetwood Hall Hotel Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weetwood Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.