We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Turka

Urban Turka
No:4,Brewery Wharf | The Calls, Leeds LS10 1NE, England
0113 245 4018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I don't make my mind up from reading other peoples reviews on here. Always try for myself first and then if i am impressed, tell everyone. I suggest you try this one for yourself. I don't think you'll be dissapointed.......
We visited Urban Turka for dinner last night (friday 26th april). We arrived at 6pm as they opened, we don't like to eat too late and also prefer restaurants at quieter times.
This place was perfect.
Even though there were only the 2 of us, we were seated in a booth by the river view windows.
The menu was simple and easy to order from.
The Cobra beer was perfectly chilled just as it should be.
Our orders were taken by the very polite waiter and food arrived at the right time, without being rushed or having to wait too long.
The chicken tikka masala i ordered as HOT had just the right amount of spice added to it for my taste and my partners chicken turka was equally as delicious. It was well presented and perfect sized portions.
We left satisfied with that euphoric feeling that you get when you've just eaten delicious indian food.
I can't fault the food, venue and service one bit.
And can highly recommend Urban Turka in Leeds to anyone wanting fine Indian cuisine in a clean contemporary setting with an ambient chilled atmosphere.
We will definately return for more of this excellent experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    24
    12
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What A Restaurant !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This reataurant has to tried to be believed !
We visited this fantastic, stylish restaurant a few weeks ago and the combination of great, quality food and great service left us with a lasting impression - we were so impressed that the journey from Sheffield where we live means we'll return again.

Sheffield doesn't have an Indian food venue which comes close to this for it's totally positive offering of all the above already mentioned - people in Leeds who havn't visited the place yet are missing out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Fantastic food all round but my lamb balti was particularly special. Arrived 10 minutes before the kitchen was due to close so I was a little dubious as to what we would receive. I needn't have worried. No complaints from our table of 10.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Food was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Though quiet on this Tuesday night and having to look for a member of staff to sit us the food was very good. The Chicken Jalfrezi was particularly enjoyable.
A decent enough restaurant but the atmosphere was more driven by the company I was with rather than the restaurant itself

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked this not know what to expect and we were extremely pleased! Elegant decor and the atmosphere was calm and distressing! Presentation of the food was exquisite! And service was on point! Food was ok quite the standard indian dishes however if you're looking for something new and modern this is certainly the place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Turka also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Urban Turka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Turka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.