We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously cheap & excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Food Academy

The Food Academy
Printworks Campus | 123 Hunslet Road, Leeds, England
+44 113 284 6260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
York
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Ridiculously cheap & excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I can't believe that we've been dining next door at the overpriced & relatively poor Harvey Nicks and missed this little gem!
We had a Ploughman's Lunch & sea sharing plate both priced at £6.50. Both were excellent & terrific value. With copious amounts of wine & a coffee our total bill came to only £37.30.
This was one of the best meals we've had in Leeds and probably the best value.
Can't recommend enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“pre theatre lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It's been awhile since my last visit (it was this or a sandwich from a shop, no contest really), had the pressed ham hock starter , very nice, plenty of lean meat and a nice baby leaf salad. Main was the turkey burgher. I was expecting a minced type burgher but, it was a nice piece of Cajun turkey steak. Overall the meal was well up to standard in cooking and presentation. I am quite happy to recommend the academy to friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went for lunch on Saturday afternoon and was expecting great things after reading reviews but the food was below par at best. It all looked the part but either the food lacked flavour, was mildly unpleasant in flavour or simply over cooked. We had 2 courses and decided not to bother with dessert. It is inexpensive but I definitely wouldnt go back based on this experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhwant L, Guest Relations Manager at The Food Academy, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments which will be passed on to the team, allowing them to make improvements.

Please accept our apologies and be assured that we do take your feedback seriously.

Should you wish to return to the Food Academy, please do not hesitate to contact me by email and I will arrange for a complimentary voucher.

Yours sincerely

Deana Diclemente
Conference and Events Coordinator
deana.diclemente@leedscitycollege.ac.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just had lunch here today with my cousin. It had been recommended to her by a friend. It is not easy to find - you really have to know about it.
The young waitress was very helpful in telling us about the choices and we both enjoyed our taster platters. We didn't feel overfaced and even had room for a dessert. We both felt that it was good value for money and in pleasant surroundings.
We will both be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pudsey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went with mum for Afternoon Tea and we had a lovely time. The tea was delicious and beautifully presented and we even took some cakes home for Dad to enjoy. The staff were lovely and very helpful. We will definitely be back again soon. Thank You.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Food Academy also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Food Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Food Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.