We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Aroy Dee - CLOSED

Thai Aroy Dee
112 Vicar Lane, Leeds, England (Quarry Hill)
0113-245-2174
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Quarry Hill
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Upon favourable reviews I decided to pay a visit. Their website does not work so no chance to preview the menu then. The window is all written in Thai but there are the words BYO followed by more Thai, which you have to assume that it means you can bring your own alcohol (which you can). First impressions, the flashing fairy lights takes away from the homely atmosphere, but aside from this, each table is completely different and is fairly cramped. Our table wasn't cleaned yet and they just got a towel and wiped it slightly. The toilet, by the way, is a single, unisex room downstairs. No hand dryer and they were out of towels. Staff are Thai and their English is passable. They smile and are very friendly. The menu is written in mostly Thai with some basic English descriptions so it was pretty hard to tell what the dish will be like. There is a page of photographed dishes, but I wish the entire menu was photographed like this so that people can see and just point, instead of trying to pronounce the Romanized Thai. So OK, the food.. Had the Hors d'oeuvres to get a taste of everything.. it was all pretty good and the ribs had particularly nice flavour but it was a poor quality rib with only meat on one side and with lots of fatty tissue - takeaways often serve better. The satay chicken was unfortunately pink in the middle, but otherwise would have been tasty. The main turned out slightly different to the picture but that was OK. Sticky rice comes in a bag you have to open yourself and the result is a dry lump of rice; not undercooked, not al dente.. dried. We had the rice from the other dish instead. They were pleasant dishes, priced nicely at around £6. Investment needs to be made on the interior to bring it up a notch, but nevertheless it gets fairly busy (was full when we arrived). I would go back again and try their "happy hour" and set menus, but they are not getting their full potential out of this small establishment, unfortunately situated next to an unsavory shop.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    44
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absloute Gem What a Find Go There”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

what a find this was my son recomended it and to be honest from the outside i was willing to turn back but thankfully we sat and oredered 2 amazing starters and 2 amazing main courses the service was excellent and the bill came to £28.00 take your own beers as well what a great place try it you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Thai we have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

A little old saying goes something like this '' Never judge a book by it's cover''. From the outside this little restaurant looks nothing special. Once inside things improve. Clean well set out with very attentive staff. The food is the best me and my girlfriend have experienced for under £40. It was simply brilliant. You can take your own plonk so no £15 plus bottle of £4.99 supermarket wine here. 5 stars. Oh and the pancakes for dessert were worth the bill on their own!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I walk past this place every morning on my way to work and to be honest it looks pretty much like a thai "greasy spoon". I would never have bothered trying it if I hadn't read about it here, and on a couple of food blogs. It is incredibly good. Between two of us we managed to try 2 main courses and 2 salads, and loved it all and ate far more than we should. Couldn't finish it all, the bill was under £30. Whilst waiting for the bill, we were already thinking about how soon we could come back. Saenguran is good, but this place is far better. Everything was good but the standout dish, for me, was the fried rice with shrimp, mango and omelette. Never has a dish read so unappealing on the menu, and tasted so damned amazing. My friend didn't want me to write a review because it's already rammed and we want to be able to get in again. As it was thanks to the reviews that we tried it, feels only fair to pass it on. If you like thai food and chile doesn't frighten you, you would be insane not to go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited last night after the great reviews. We have visited Thailand a couple of times and every time we try to find the same quality of food over here.

The food here was as close to Thailand we have ever tried.

The restaurant isn't the nicest we've been to (but neither are the ones in Thailand that serve great food)!! It isn't a place that you need to get super dressed up. It's basic but the food is great.

We got a mixed starter, two mains and a noodle dish and the bill came to £28 which unfortunately isn't as good a price as Thailand but still excellent value for UK.

The restaurant isn't licensed but you can take your own drinks and it's free corkage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Aroy Dee also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Aroy Dee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.