We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Red

China Red
Green Lane | Yeadon, Leeds LS19 7BY, England
0113 250 0220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #682 of 1,306 restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We called in for an early Pre-Theatre Dinner and found a set menu priced at £11.99 in addition to the 'a la carte'. There was sufficient choice on the set menu and we ordered. We were served promptly and the food was delicious, although the wine could've been of better quality. The restaurant was empty when we arrived at 5.20pm, but had only been open since 5pm. However, it promptly had other guests, mainly families with young children.
The decor was typical Chinese, staff attentive, service excellent, food good. Overall excellent value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    11
    16
    5
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the second time we have visited for a Mothers Day celebration. We had the buffet - 10 adults & 2 children. Nothing seems too much trouble for the staff, a high chair appeared in seconds and the kids were presented with 'red noses' for Comic Relief. I'm not a huge fan of buffets, I would rather be served, but out table is very near the buffet and so collecting the food is quite easy. The choice is great, all freshly cooked and reasonably hot . It was my daughters birthday and at the end of the meal, a cake we had brought was served with the candles lit and plenty of plates on which to serve it. The staff were on hand throughout the meal to clear plates and refresh drinks. All in all a very pleasant experience and good value for money. I hope we are booking again for next Mothers Day !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Tried this restaurant with family for a change from the usual and was very pleasantly surprised. The occasion was a birthday and I had made a cake, When we arrived it was taken away to be brought out to 'Happy Birthday to you' with candles lit and sparklers by the restaurant manager! The buffet meal was decidedly delicious, lots of choice, very tasty and all hot and freshly made. There was a vegetarian section, salads, soups, ribs, chicken, prawn toast, traditional chinese dishes, curries, sweet and sour, noodles, rice........this list is endless. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were attentive but not intrusive and very polite. It was so much of a pleasure to eat there that we have been as a family four times in 3 months! Off again for Mothers' Day - can't wait!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value Buffet, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have eaten here on numerous occasions, mainly the buffet but also the full menu. Service has always been good and the food tasty. Very good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic home made dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with a fantastic experience. Was hoping to find dim sum as most chinese restaurants outside major city centres tend to just have the run of the mill "takeaway" type menu that doesn't resemble food eaten in Hong Kong. Avoided the "buffet" as not keen on that experience and asked for the Al a Carte. Very impressed, selection of 4 mixed dim sum was home made and very, very good. Followed this with 1/2 crispy duck with pancakes and sauces, also very good. Pleased with the bill also, around £30.00, only part that was over priced was the gin and tonic, £6 for a double. Could do with more choice of wine as only one, "vino blanco". Will defintely come back here for the food though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Red also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to China Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Red, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.