We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice meal. Really nice people. Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Granary Cafe

The Granary Cafe
Crag House Farm | Otley Old Road, Cookridge, Leeds LS16 7NH, England
(0113) 2303 600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really nice meal. Really nice people. Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went with an offer from living social. A really good value meal (£9 per head for 3 courses) but my wife and I said we'd go there at normal price.

Number 1 for a restaurant has to be the food and it was really nice. The selection is excellent. It is cooked fresh in an open plan kitchen. We had a variety of food across the menu and we all enjoyed what we chose. They also choose locally sourced food and you can tell! Great taste.

The service was really good. The staff smiled a lot and were really friendly. It makes such a difference when the people are nice. It really adds to the enjoyment of the evening.

The ambiance was excellent, the cleanliness was excellent and the general décor of the place was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Almost always very, very good / excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I consider this to be one of the best eateries in Leeds. I have dined and coffeed here on humerous occasions, alone, with wife, with daughter. The food has always been either very good or excellent. The interior is superb, cleanliness superb and table service usually excellent.

My slight gripe would be time taken to be noticed at the rather obvious seating point. One sometimes finds oneself waiting an awkward moment or two while a staff member polishes cutlery before noticing one.

I stress that this, and the other occasions where there have been slight niggles, are rare and always peripheral to the central experience. Overall, this is almost always very, very good, and not occasionally excellent.

Keep it up Granary Cafe!!!! Leeds needs places like this where things are basically reliably to standard and where there is more than a whiff of excellence on most occasions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Food - Amazing staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Went there last night for a meal, though have been a couple of times before. It was a First Class meal. The attention detail could only be rivaled in a 4* or 5* restaurant. The quality of all the food was amazing.
The staff were very attentive without being over bearing. The service was quick, though it was fairly quiet.
On a previous visit we bought some of their own sausages and steaks and thoroughly enjoyed them.
Oh, and a nice little touch at the end of the meal - we offered to leave a tip for the staff (they deserved it) but were informed that ALL tips are given to the charity - what a great idea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SOMEWHERE NICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The best way to describe this is nice. Pleasant surroundings, spotlessly clean, attentive staff. Tasty food. Great to be able to eat without skirting your way around prams pushchairs and food on the floor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“overpriced and poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Had been a few times to the original building and had nice food so I was looking forward to seeing the new building. We went between Christmas and New Year and had to wait 30 minutes for a table but spent the time looking round the shop. On looking at the menu I thought it was all very expensive,the prices had gone up by at least £2 per item now they are in the new building. I ordered a Wensleydale cheese sandwich in a brown roll with homemade chutney. When it arrived there was a cube of cheese on top of some grated cheese in the bread roll, which gave the impression that they had collected leftovers and put them together in the sandwich. The homemade chutney was cranberry sauce that had been left over from Christmas, all served with a salad but no salad dressing was offered. The bread roll was so dry that they must either have bought it days ago, or over microwaved it to thaw it out. When I asked for some salad dressing I was offered salad cream or raspberry vinegar. I chose raspberry vinegar, which was very nice, but I could have done with at least twice as much. This cost me £6.50 for a sandwich, so with as pot of tea, not much change from £10. I will not be eating here again as too expensive and the food was poor quality.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Manager at The Granary Cafe, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks so much for your review and please let me apologise for the experience you had today. As you can see from the other reviews this was an exception and the quality of our food is very important as your custom helps us raise money for the work of Caring For Life. I am so sorry you have decided not to come to us again but would ask that you contact me at the farm at your convenience, I will look in to your service and food to ensure that we provide consistency to all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granary Cafe also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Granary Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granary Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.