We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tasty food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Tavern

Town Hall Tavern
17 Westgate, Leeds ls1 2ra, England (Leeds City Centre)
+44 113 244 0765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,368 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Town Hall Tavern, brought to you by Sam, Jon and all the THT team. We are a friendly village pub based in Leeds city centre serving fresh, locally sourced British food, quality cocktails, fine wines and traditional cask ales, with excellent Yorkshire hospitality.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to dine. Lovely homemade food. Excellent quick service. Can book a table online which saves u a lot of time and effort. Serves real ale plenty of choice. I would definitely come here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your succinct and glowing review. At the Town Hall Tavern our mission is to provide the best in freshly cooked food, served in a pleasant and efficient manner with great well kept real ales and your review confirms that we are succeeding in our goal. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Sam, Jon and the Town Hall Tavern team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    155
    36
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Successful 30th birthday party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Friendly staff who accommodated every request, we had a nice large area sectioned off, could choose our own music and were excellent at communicating about the event. Many places in Leeds on a Saturday night want a minimum spend or a deposit which is quite pressurising for the birthday girl/boy! Town Hall Tavern did not request this.

20 of us ate with extra drinkers. Food was good, most people enjoyed theirs- pie and mash got a big thumbs up! Comments would be perhaps to serve some more vegetables with the chef's specials as some commented on the smaller portion size and with both the starter and main one person was waiting a considerable amount of time for their meal despite pre ordering in advance which was a little disappointing.

Overall would definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments with regard your 30th birthday party. We feel that it worked very well in terms of the area that was set up for you to have a seated meal and an area to chat and have a little boogie. We have had a team meeting with regard your comments on the food and are looking again at portion size to ensuring that we offer excellent value for money whilst still using top quality locally sourced products. With regard the late meal there was no excuse, it was down to human error which can sometimes happen in a busy kitchen. We have now put in place a double check system to ensure that all meals match what has been ordered. It was great to have been given the opportunity to host your birthday party and let you enjoy the music from the 90's. We hope you decide to come back to us in ten years and celebrate the big 4 0.
Regards Sam, Jon and all the team at THT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great evening out with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked a table online, arrived & table ready. All 5 of us had food. I had Fish & Chips, divine chips, well cooked & not greasy fish, mushy peas & tartar sauce. Tartar was home made & was gorgeous. Within the group we also had steak, pork & gammon & all already enjoyed it. Plenty of drinks to choose from & good atmosphere. If I was to be picky, my fish & chips weren't 'hot, just warm but really good food all the same. Would return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you had a great experience with us. All the meals you had were the very popular dishes from the menu with fish and chips been the best seller. I have passed onto the chefs your comments with regard your meal not been as hot and stressed the importance of hot food arriving on hot plates. I have also mentioned to them your delight with the tartar sauce. The evening you were with us had a great atmosphere with lots of tables dining with family and friends, there was laughing and conversation flowing in a relaxed manner which makes all of the team at THT proud to be a part of the success.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Jon, Sam and the THT team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top Gastro Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Whilst on a 3 day visit to Leeds in July I found a pub/restaurant that combines great food with my all time favourite beer Timothy Taylor Landlord. The only down side to this discovery is that as I live in Western Australia it is going to be some little while before my next visit unfortunately.

Knowledgable and friendly staff, great atmosphere and a row of taps to keep any real ale fan happy for hours. I recommend it unreservedly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Its such good news that on your recent visit you took the time to visit us at Town Hall Tavern. Since your visit we have had another hand pump installed so we are the only pub in Leeds selling the full range of Timothy Taylor's beers. It is great to think that even on the other side of the world people have good memories of their time in Leeds and in our pub. Thanks once again for our review and hope you get the chance to pop over again for a pint sometime.
Regards
Jon, Sam and the THT team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great prawn cocktail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited @12.30 for a much needed sunday lunch .
Table booked and all ready .
Spotted a prawn cocktail.on the specials board . It was fab !!.
Great meal and service to match .
Great relaxing sunday experiance .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was great to see you again on Sunday, as a regular customer your opinion matters greatly too us and it is good to know that over the recent transition you have not experienced any change in the quality of food, beer and service. We will continually strive to maintain our passion for excellence so all our customers old and new enjoy their time at Town Hall Tavern. Thanks once again for taking the time to review us.
Regards
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Tavern also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.