We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Tavern

Town Hall Tavern
17 Westgate, Leeds ls1 2ra, England (Leeds City Centre)
+44 113 244 0765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Town Hall Tavern, brought to you by Sam, Jon and all the THT team. We are a friendly village pub based in Leeds city centre serving fresh, locally sourced British food, quality cocktails, fine wines and traditional cask ales, with excellent Yorkshire hospitality.
shropshire
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Popped in here for lunch on Saturday. Situated just off the main thoroughfare it's easy to find.

The menu is quite extensive, we opted for soup and a sandwich which was very tasty and well presented.

Good selection of beers and the service was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your great review! I think I served you myself, so I am glad you had an excellent experience with us at the weekend - we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    144
    34
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable - Fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited yesterday as a party of 6. Food was immense! I had the pesto risotto (yum!) Lovely surrounding and service was good too.
Will definitely return next time in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your great review! We are so glad that we catered to your party of six well - I'm a huge fan of the tomato and pesto risotto myself - great choice. We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Safe as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited for sunday lunch .
As safe and fab as ever .
Great service , fab food , good pint of mild .
Have booked next visit .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for a great review! It's lovely to hear that you feel we provide a consistently great experience at THT! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One Of My Favourite Eating Places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Once again we were not disappointed with the food that we ordered.

The Pie & Mash was excellent and the Gammon & Pineapple was the best I'd ever tasted.

All in all, first class service, good quality food and great on the pocket.

Would recommend this tavern to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your glowing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at THT. As we endevour to keep our high food and service standards consistent we are happy to hear that you had another excellent experience with us - we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yes/No”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This very old pub is very nice, friendly staff, Larger and wine at reasonable prices.
We orderded Fish and CHIPS,fish was good but very disappointed that we got wedges and not Dripping cooked CHIPS as advertised. I dont eat chips as a rule so this would have been a bit of a treat.
I would go back for a drink, after reading some of the reviews I might try the food again. If you order the Fish and Chips I would check abouth the chips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. Our chips are hand cut by our kitchen team every day, this does lead to them being a 'chunky chip' rather than fries. Any of our front of house staff would have been more than happy to answer any query you had about this issue. We would urge you to come and try us again, our staff would be happy to recommened a variety of different options for you. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Tavern also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.