We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MFA Bowl Leeds

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
MFA Bowl Leeds
13 Merrion Way | Merrion Centre, Leeds LS2 8BT, England (Formerly 1st Bowl)
0113 242 0883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 20 Fun & Games in Leeds
Attraction details
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“old!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very old and shabby looking. Cheap deals on bowling though. Keyboard was so worn you could not see keys! Took us ages to get names in! 3 staff on a very very busy school holidays. Waited 10mins just for someone to give us shoes!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    3
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful centre manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The place itself looks old, filthy and in need of some serious work. The lanes broke down constantly, I have to say though, the worst part was the rude and arrogant short man who I was informed was the general manager named Christian Jackson he lacked any customer service skills or people skills in general he was cutting and utterly clueless, I am baffled as to how he has got a managerial role at all. He seemed a genuinely nasty and horrid person. The girl on reception was lovely and could not do enough for us I didn't get her name but she was a very happy and cheerful little thing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Unreliable lanes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had a couple of games last night with a large group of work colleagues. The place feels a bit grubby and could do with an overhaul. On top of that the most frustrating thing and the reason for my low score is the fact that the lanes continually broke down. It must have happened eight or nine times in our two games and is the worst reliability I've ever seen at a bowling alley. The staff did what they could but it really slowed us down and was a real pain.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The worst place in leeds!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On my visit to 1st bowl leeds it is very dirty and shabby, There is no buggy or wheelchair accsess. The center manager it very rude and snobbish, the center looks like it hasn't been clean in weeks the diner is a very dark and dirty apparantly it has a 3 star rating from the food standers agency really the kitchen should be closed down there is no way I would eat from there, when we was on the lanes the floors were sticky also there was broken glass, the lanes kept braking down, for the exstorsant prices you pay you would think they would repair the lanes, so please don't go there go to hollywood bowl you will get more value for your money

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,154 reviews 1,154 reviews
420 attraction reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
4,077 helpful votes 4,077 helpful votes
“Cheap but not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went here on the adult party package - £14 a head for two games of bowling, 'food' and two drinks each. Compared to tenpin prices this is cheap but overall the experience wasn't that good. The lane kept jamming and during our 2nd game totally stopped working. They moved us to another lane which worked better but we did have to start the game again. That said they gave us all another free drink each when we spoke to the manager after getting palmed off by the lady on reception. The drinks were fine, a pint of cider, lager, and some bottles/soft drinks. The food was OK at best - a few garlic mushrooms, chicken wings, onion rings and literally what seemed like a bag of curly fries on one large plate. It was OK and hot, but nothing much. The place was clean though unlike some other reviews.

I would say if the lanes worked it would be OK value but it did get a bit annoying having to constantly get help, which wasn't all that quick to arrive either.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MFA Bowl Leeds also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to MFA Bowl Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MFA Bowl Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.