We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cattle Grid Leeds

Cattle Grid Leeds
Assembly Street | Unit 1, Waterloo House, Leeds LS2 7DE, England
+44 113 242 1872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $9 - $54
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cow | Pig | Poultry | Burgers | Salads Opening Hours: Monday 6pm - 10pm Tuesday 6pm - 10pm Wednesday 6pm - 10pm Thursday 6pm - 10pm Friday 12pm - 10pm Saturday 12pm - 10pm Sunday 12pm - 6pm
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were having a Christmas shopping day in Leeds a couple of weeks ago and wanted to eat somewhere we had not been before. We stumbled on the cattle grid and to say it was busy, the food and service were very good and a reasonable price. We had the hog roast sandwich with chips and onion strings which were delicious. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    90
    25
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went to cattle grid for our works Christmas party 20 of us the service was first class and our food was perfect,a very big thank you to Dave and his staff for everything,have a very merry Christmas see you in the new year Jane Mark and Sam

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

It was very busy when we visited the restaurant - it had a buzzing atmosphere, great for groups of friends but probably not the place for dinner for two.

We ordered a combo for starters which included ribs, which were delicious. We all had different burgers for main course, with side dishes including fries, onion rings and macaroni cheese. I thought the macaroni cheese was a bit of a random choice but it was really lovely. All the burgers were good, and the portions were very generous - not one of us could finish everything we had been served.

Recommend this place for a casual dining night out - good food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like a beefy Nando's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very noisy restaurant, unsuitable for a romantic meal. The service was more like a pub than a restaurant - we had about five different staff come to the table, none of whom seemed to take ownership for the service to our table. The rib starters were delicious, the steak main meal just okay and pretty average portion sizes. I expected so much more from a restaurant specialising in meat.
Fairly expensive given the quality of food and the dining experience. I'd much rather pay less for Nando's or a little bit more and get much better food elsewhere. There are other better and better-value steakhouses in Leeds

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Burger!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Not going to rule the place out on the basis of one visit but the staff need to ask how people like their steak cooked etc. I ordered a burger so I expected it to be cooked like a burger. I've never had to ask for a burger to be cooked 'well done' or any other way... it's a burger!! My burger was raw, not rare, not medium rare... it was raw mince. If someone served it to you from a bbq you'd bin it. Even the waitress looked shocked when I gave her my plate.
Sort it out whoever is in charge, it's a steak restaurant and not everybody is an expert in steak, ask questions and advise people. I'll try it again as I'm not usually a complainer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Grid Leeds also viewed

Apperley Bridge, Bradford
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Cattle Grid Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattle Grid Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.