We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timoney's

Timoney's
647 Roundhay Road, Leeds LS8 4BA, England
+44 113 248 8333 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,446 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I keep forgetting to rate Timoney's - so here we go!
Timoney's is my local and it opened as I moved into the neighbourhood. Up to this point Oakwood was a tad devoid of places to have a coffee. What I love most (other than the uber-delicious cake) is the huge welcome you get every single time.
My favourites are the chocolate cakes with berries, toasted fruit bread and pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. I don't visit too much or I'd be the size of a small house.
It's a real family venture and I can't recommend it enough - do book on the weekend though!
PS If you keep visiting, you'll get the full range of Kathryn's glasses; they're ace!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    13
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I've just retuned from lunch here. And the place is faultless. Friendly staff, quick service, exciting little menu, and scrummy food. Can't recommend it enough for breakfast, lunch or just coffee and cake. Will defintley be returning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Looks like any other small café, but then.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When the food arrives, and you taste it, you understand why Timoney's gets rave reviews.
We went on Sat. midday; it was full but we'd booked a table – Hint to those who take offence at being turned away a second time! The menu could be described as interesting or adventurous but not pretentious like Anthony's.
Good, strong tea (plus a pot of hot water) while our meals were prepared. Delicious food, nicely-presented, everything home-made, even the bread.
We lingered a bit too long, but were never 'leaned on' to leave. In fact, the friendly owner even offered to take a photo of us all, though she was busy clearing other tables.
Thanks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An absolute hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Wow what an amazing place! We don't even live in Leeds and can't wait to have an excuse to go back and return to this lovely little restaurant! Enjoyed a yummy breakfast - food was well cooked, quality, and came with a quirky memorable service from the waiting staff. Would absolutely recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“10th visit for Breakfast and still incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My partner and I are regulars at Timoneys are are always amazed by the quality of food, warm and engaging service and the fantastic hosts. We generally visit for breakfast and are always very happy. Prices range from £5+ for restaurant standard full English breakfasts to pancakes etc. After trying so many places for breakfasts in and around Roundhay, City Centre and Chapel Allerton this is our favourite by miles. Thanks guys. Jonny and Jessica. x

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timoney's also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Timoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timoney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.