We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden little gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 42 The Calls to your Saves list
42 The Calls
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
1 review
“Hidden little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Second time me and my girlfriend stayed in this amazing hotel. I booked a junior suite and was upgraded free of charge to the beautiful penthouse suite. From the second you arrive to the second you leave you are treat like an individual person and not like another number as you are in most expensive chain hotels. Nothing was to much bother for the lovely receptionist who greated us with a glass of wine upon arrival and organised a fan for our room. The rooms have so much character and are not just 4 walls with a bed and tv! This was our second visit in 5 months and I know we will be back atleast another three times this year!
My girlfriend absolutley adores this little place.
Oh and the breakfast Is beautiful too.
Thanks for another unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review.

We do like to make our guests feel very welcome and give a home from home feel.

We love the buildings features and history, it is a popular aspect of the hotel which we love to talk about.

The team and I are all very happy that you and your girlfriend keep coming back and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    193
    86
    37
    11
See reviews for
31
287
35
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
keighely
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely hotel attentive staff, beautiful room overlooking the river. great complimentary glass of wine on arrival. nothing too much bother. was particularly pleased to have an automatic upgrade when we arrived at the hotel. Only down side no air conditioning, but it is an old cotton mill not easy to add modern air conditioning. could consider providing fans although we were there in the longest heat wave for many years!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is always nice to read that a guest has really enjoyed their stay and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Leeds.

We certainly have had some hot weather and although we do not have air conditioning we can provide fans upon request.

If you are due to stay again in the summer months and we have this brilliant, yet somewhat humid weather again, then please advise the reservations team to place a fan in your room.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for 2 day shopping trip arriving by train. All within easy walking distance and can drop bags back during the day. We had riverside room which was very comfortable and quiet. Nice welcome with a glass of wine to take up to the room. Comfortable room and beds with spacious bathroom. Robes and usual comforts all there and free wifi
We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel but at the local Corn Exchange just as that suited us better. We arrived in Sunday evening when the attached restaurant was closed but we had good tapas in another adjacent establishment
I would definitely return to this hotel. We really enjoyed our 2 nights there

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

It was lovely to read that you had an enjoyable two night stay with us and would definitely return.

We are in very close proximity to the shops, especially the new Trinity Shopping complex and the beautiful Victoria Quarter. We do have shopping packages, which include Prosecco, chocolates, shopping vouchers and breakfast; if you are interested in any of the offers we do then please contact the reservations team.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed here twice and it's such a lovely little hotel to have found - something different to the normal city centre hotels, and tucked away down a small side street overlooking the river to one side. The interior is so interesting, every room is different and unique based upon the hotel's history. The beds are comfy and all staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. It is located about 10-15 minutes walk away from the main city centre shops etc, but there are restaurants and bars to be found closer by. Only small gripe would be that it's not cheap to stay, so would be nice to have breakfast included - the first time we paid the extra to try it, but the second time we opted to just check out and head for a coffee shop. Would still return for a third time though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed yet another stay with us and that you will be returning.

We do have bed and breakfast rates and offer alternatives to the continental and full English. On your next reservation I am sure the team will be happy to run through these with you.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here at the weekend, picked this hotel based on alot of favourable reviews on tripadvisor.

We really enjoyed our stay, there are cheaper options out there but we wanted something a bit different ... and also smaller so not full of huge hen and stag do's which frequent all city centres on a weekend ! Nothing against hen / stags btw !

Jessica was extremely helpful when i originally made the booking and also greeted us on arrival (with a glass of wine ... i could get used to that !). We had a Directors room with river view, it was a decent size and was lovely to see they had tried to retain some of the original features. It wasnt the absolute best room we've ever stayed in, nor did it have the flashiest bathroom / shower etc but it was very nice and they seemed to have thought of everything. Love the little touches like the fudge and the frog soaps ! What i will say is the bed was SO comfortable, actually probably one of the most comfortable ive slept in at a hotel. Really did sleep like a log !

There was some music on accross at the Tetleys wharf area and in the afternoon it was really pounding, but thankfully it did finish early. Despite the hotel being in an up and coming area for bars and restaurants its fairly quiet at night compared to some locations (we saw the malmaison and that really is in the thick of it and i'd imagine noisy at night). OK we had a river view room but it was very quiet when we went to bed, and we slept with the window open. Was lovely and tranquil the next morning.

Mini bar in the room is reasonable prices. Theres also an honesty bar (again not a rip off) which is a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely, very filling, the sausage menu great idea. Was a lovely breakfast room overlooking the river.

All in all we found this hotel to be excellent on the service front, very comfortable and a great location (its only 5 mins to the shops !). Ate at Brasserie 44 next door but will do seperate review for that.

Would definately return and highly reccomend !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

It was so nice to read you appreciated different aspects of the hotel and I am especially pleased that you mentioned Jessica's service, as she has only been with the reception team a short time.

We always try to be that little bit different offering wine on arrival, 12 different sausages at breakfast and our much loved frog shaped soaps.

I am delighted that you will return and will be recommending us to other.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

what a welcome to come into the hotel to a lovely welcome and and an offer of a complemantary drink. it is in a prime location so it could be noisy, but the first thing i got was an apology for the music as there is a concert near by but it finished at 9 which i appreciate that they told me. the decor is lovely and homely.

Room Tip: room 321 is lovely but its a small t.v. and can be noisy compared to other rooms in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you were impressed with the welcome you received and that the receptionist mentioned the Waterfront Festival to you.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tankersley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having been disappointed with not being able to visit another hotel, 42 The Calls was not our first choice. However, it will be in future! Having not stayed before, I was unsure what to expect, and so emailed the hotel with various questions, which they promptly responded to - an excellent first impression! The hotel was absolutely stunning, Charlotte on reception was absolutely lovely, couldn't have wished for better service! Working in a similar career myself, I knew what to look for, and everything exceeded my expectations. The room was gorgeous, not to mention the cheeky glass of wine on arrival (not usually a wine-drinker, but it was lovely after a long day travelling)! Unfortunately, we never got to try the breakfast facilities, but we will be next time for sure, the mere smell of it was inviting enough! Me and my boyfriend were visiting as we were seeing a musical in the area and also as an early birthday celebration for myself, and the hotel was simply the icing on the cake, honestly.
Couldn't recommend the hotel more if I tried. Just amazing. Thank you to all we met there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review.

It is always nice to read such great comments about the hotel and the team, Charlotte is especially pleased with her personal mention.

Do make sure you come to breakfast on your next stay, we offer a number of offers and packages that include breakfast and the team will be happy to talk you through these if you like.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#14 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#17 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 42 The Calls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.