We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incompetent management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quebecs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quebecs to your Saves list
Quebecs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Quebec Street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“incompetent management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

Stayed for four nights as I was in Leeds for business, lost tree shirts, got charged for a couple of drinks, which I never had, did not get my wake up call twice, couldn't get enough sleep the first night because of the noise coming from a very busy road, no ear plugs either, been moved the following day to a large room at the rear of the hotel, which was a bit better than the original one, but I hardly got any sleep either because of a busy pub and a gentleman's club right behind my window plus somebody was throwing bottles every hour or so...

After expressing my dissatisfaction on check out , was advised to see the Assistant manager as the manager was not around, half hour later i was still waiting, left my business card with the receptionist and asked if somebody can give me a call regarding the stay, what do you know 5 star service, never heard of them...

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    230
    71
    31
    18
See reviews for
41
341
42
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

The Hotel was booked by my colleagues for our wedding reception night and so we had no idea what was in store.

We were originally booked into a suite in the 3rd floor but somewhere along the line as a honeymoon couple we were put into the most fantastic Sherbert Suite.

The room was imacculate with a great view, a spiral staircase in the middle of the room that took you into the sleeping area and a massive bathroom with a power shower and best of all a jar of Sherbert fountains.

The room service we called at 4 in the morning was prompt and not that expensive, the staff were very helpful and we had a fantastic one night stay.

Perfect breakfast designed to fill you up beyond lunch.

I would reccommend this Hotel to anyone wishing a romantic night/weekend away.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The parking cost@ £10.00 which we were not expecting
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

You first walk into a beautiful lobby with a sweeping staircase and large stained glass window......the rest of this hotel doesn't disappoint either!
Tastefully decorated bedroom with everything you need (CD player, TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee, apples!?!). The bathroom was fab and included molton brown bath stuff!
Great location as right in city centre - minutes from shops/bars/restaurants.
Would be very happy to get to stay here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newacstle UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

This hotel really is all fur coat. The decor is pretty impressive, the room is small with only a three quater bed rather than a double. However, if you stay in room 107, and plan to sleep forget it! The pipes bang throughout the night, you can hear the traffic as the room
is literally on the road. This I could forgive somewhat, but I could hear the door bell throughout the night for the attention of the night porter, you could hear conversations between guests and reception as well as the receptionist stapling papers together and then opening the drawer to put them away. I had hoped for a relaxing stay in a hotel which charges over £100 per night without breakfast, but you won't get it here. To be fair, the service was good from reception and dining staff!

You also won't get an apology from management. Stay in a travelodge!

  • Liked — moton brown toiletries!
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

A fantastic place to stay for the cricket. Very pleasant staff. The rooms we had were huge and the decor was fitting for this grand building. Ok, the facilties in the rest of the hotel are a little basic but if you want something a little different to the usual chains, this will more than do.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

I took my wife to the hotel for her birthday weekend. The rooms were fine but the little things really got on my nerves: the parking was £10/night. The breakfast was very poor - orange juice from carton and the cooked breakfast was satisfactory but only just. The best part of the hotel is the oak room which is one of the most relaxing rooms i have been in. Also there is a magnificent stained glass window in the foyer. That is about all the best bits. I returned to the hotel 2 days later on business. I asked for a 6am wake up call - i observed this being written down but did not receive any call. Also, i was awoken to find a member of staff trying to show another guest into my room - ie he had disabled the lock of the room and was stopped only by the chain on the door - is it that difficult to put guests in different rooms when they are not sharing?

There were lots of other niggly things which made me write this review. On the plus side it is very centrally located for the train station which is why i went back (in case you are wondering).

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

Booked into this hotel directly through their website for their romantic package.....and it was. We stayed the one night and it was great, the room was spacious, clean, rose petals on the bed it was perfect. It was a little bit pricey but to be honest worth every penny. The location is good and as it is right in the centre perfect for a weekend shopping & experiencing the local nightlife. The only thing I would say is be careful with the reception/concierge. I booked a restaurant before I went there using the concierge and the reservation never materialised. We also asked the receptionist to check on the reservation for us and he never told us that it hadn't been made. So property is great but the actual front of house service is not as highly rated.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quebecs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebecs

Address: 9 Quebec Street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Leeds
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#12 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#12 Family Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quebecs 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quebecs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quebecs Hotel Leeds
Quebecs Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quebecs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.