We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonably priced and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Park

Deer Park
Street Lane, Leeds, England
0113 246 3211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 1,305 restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Two of us went for dinner here a few weeks ago, and as I work for another brand of the company was advised to try it out. We had gammon and pork belly and they were both really tasty meals and well priced. The only downside was that the floor waiting staff lacked personality and seemed a bit dead behind the eyes. Perhaps a bit of good customer service training might be able to resolve that..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    33
    30
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never dissapoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch today and the deer park was excellent as always. The thing that really appeals for me is how versatile this place is. Light lunch, afternoon coffee, evening drinks or a slap up 3 course dinner...all can be had at a consistently excellent standard.

Such a relaxed atmosphere with attentive friendly service. The deer park is one of my favourite Leeds hang outs and I can recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Nipped in for lunch after passing by on a day at park with family, food was exceptional and service great,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is the third time we have visited the Deer Park, and for the first time we were seated to the right of the eneterance - which strangely has a completely different decor and feel to the left! However, the menu is the same and the lunch Sunday lunch has a wide choice, including traditional roasts as well as the full a la carte menu being on offer. We went for a family meal out with ages ranging from 76 to 17 and there was lots of choice for everyone. The food is well presented, tasty and good value - especially the set Sunday lunch menu. The service was good and the Deer Park is always busy with a good atmosphere. I had the hoisin duck salad from the main menu, it is delicious, warm duck, lots of salad and a lovely hoisin sauce. Two of the family had the roast pork from the Sunday lunch, it was cooked really well, although the crackling was a little hard, but overall it was excellent value. Traditional puddings include a sticky toffee and a cruble and custard and there are less traditional choices too. We will be returning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Dear and Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have eaten a number of times at the Deer Park and although a bit on the dear side for a pub, the food has always been good. Restaurant was reasonably busy around 7pm on Thursday and had welcoming log fires burning. Table was quickly found and our order taken. Complimentary bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar was a nice touch and good. My friend had seafood risotto which was creamy and enjoyable. My rump steak was cooked rare just as I'd ordered but was probably 20%gristle making it tough to cut and difficult to eat. I would have preferred a smaller, properly trimmed steak. The chili salsa covering it was overpowering and would have been better served on the side. The accompanying leaves were already drizzled with oil - no choice of dressing. Service was good but when the bill arrived, I discovered my guest's one large glass of pinot grigio cost a whopping £7.15! The menu only shows by-the-glass prices for the 175ml size. Overall, it's still a nice place to eat but next time I'll skip the steak and check the wine prices!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deer Park also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Deer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.