We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find great restaurant and take away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arya - CLOSED

Arya
88 Bishopgate St, Leeds, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Turkish, Persian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent find great restaurant and take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have eaten in and had take always several times and have always found the food fantastic and great friendly service. Serving traditional kebabs and a selection of Persian cuisine. We are very surprised by some of the reviews and would certainly say if you want authentic Persian food with an unpretentiousness atmosphere this is a great place to visit !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    21
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad management, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Greasy food, took ages to arrive, got the order wrong in various different ways and we were ignored by the manager when we complained. Was also totally over priced for the quality of the food, it was worse than most cheap takeaway food, meat seemed processed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I made the mistake of not checking out restaurants on trip advisor before our visit to Leeds this weekend as it was our intention to visit a place I have often visited in the past - a little Turkish place by the station (I think it was called Efe or similar). We have not been to Leeds for some time so unfortunately when we got there we found it had become Arya, a Persian restaurant but as it had a good trip advisor rating and the first item on the menu seemed familiar to that of its predecessor we decided to try it.
The aubergine and garlic starter was actually a paste served with flatbread though the flatbread was not mentioned on the menu - not a good start !
The kebab and rice was okay but nothing special.
Hubby had enjoyed his hallumi starter but was very disappointed with his main course.
When we got the bill we were stunned to see a £2 corkage charge for bringing our own drinks (Arya is not licensed) though the previous restaurant had never charged corkage and there was no mention of this on the menu or on display. It did not actually make any difference to what we paid as we would have rounded up to the next note value anyway - there was just a smaller tip !
Our first and very much last visit to Arya !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great prices, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I visited this restaurant with my husband, we both love persian food and weren't disappointed. Extremely reasonably priced, high quality and huge quantities. The staff was really friendly. The only thing that is somehow annoying is the atmosphere, the place looks like a 70s disco turned to a restaurant... don't think black, red and silver is great for a place to eat or for any place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLENT FOOD, SERVICE, PRICE AND PEOPLE!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I wemt to arya a couple of weeks back with a couple of friends. We both had a chenje mix (SHISH kebab mix.) It was extremely fresh and tasted exceptionally great!!!! I will definitely be coming back to this restaurant and my friend also thought that the food was rather great. My friend actually enjoyed the food which was provided fresh. We decided that we will definitely come back in the future to have a nights meal at this restaurant. We had a good service provided from all of the staff there. It also came at a very low price in comparison with other types of restaurants there are......

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arya also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.