We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Steps Bar & Bistro

The Old Steps Bar & Bistro
26 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
+44 113 245 0482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Small independently owned bar /bistro serving excellent, value for money fresh cuisine, by our french chef. Food served Monday - Friday 12pm - 3pm. Saturday & Sundays are available for private functions, various buffet & hot dish packages available, please see our website for details & prices.Please note that the Old Steps has subterranean access down narrow stairs and has no separate disabled access.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Booked with LivingSocial the sharing platter and bottle of wine for 2 people £14. The food, wine and atmosphere were great. Staff were friendly and efficient. Bit out of the way and the decor could do with updating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    36
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“its been many years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

used to visit this place 20 years ago .it was very basic then .its now changed into a great little restaurant . we had the sharing platter with cheese, continental meats washed down with a bottle of wine .would we go back YES .its a great find . maybe go for the steak next time. it looks good value .the owner could not have been more helpful .little places like this one deserve to succeed in in these hard times .give it a go you wont be disappointed

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“What a most pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

All the reviews I read we're glowing in the extreme and after my first but not my last visit I concur.Good local beers,well kept,sensible wine prices and the food very competently prepared by a young fellow who clearly knows his job - bravo and well done.
One little downside, the boys loo! Not the scruffiest in Leeds but close.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
424jimc, Owner at The Old Steps Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come back and see us again soon. We are hoping to carry out refurbishments in the near future which hopefully will make us look a lot more attractive. We have already done the ladies loo's and are at present planning the other works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Party Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Booked the old steps for my birthday bash. Invited all my friends ended up with about 60 of us all having the time of our lives. One young lad said "I didn't realise people your age partied this hard" (he was 18). Anyway everyone one had a ball helped by the fantastic playlist and cheap drinks. The staff were very good keeping the drinks flowing and letting us make ourselves at home. Would recomend for any party as it is like a home from home with a bar all mod cons. Best bit was we didn't have to clear up after, the venue was free if you have enought people and they will stay open until 2am. Party on...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, big portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very cosy little bar serving excellent food in generous portion sizes. Good selection of beers on tap and in bottles, and some very good malt whiskeys. Highly recomended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Steps Bar & Bistro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Steps Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Steps Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.