We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20/20” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground

Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground
St Michael's Lane, Leeds LS6 3BU, England
0871 971 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 67 Attractions in Leeds
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“20/20”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

24 of us decided to attend the Match on 5th July. Unfortunately due to the unruly behaviour of others I saw very little of the cricket. Bad language , fighting and throwing things seemed to be acceptable to security who were totally ineffective. We left after half full plastic beer vessels were tossed into the air, one hitting me and breaking my spectacles. Attend with caution but I will not be returning

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cricket was excellent, but........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sunny friday evening, Roses 20/20 match, all set for a cracking time.....then.... Yorkshire County Cricket, in their wisdom decided not to let you bring ANY alcohol into the ground. Decided to go to the bar after 15 overs, to avoid the rush. 40 MIN queue, of a 2 1/2 hour game! About 1/4 of the whole match! I know what the excuses will be, "you don't have to drink", "it's to avoid drunkenness". OK, try making the next Roses match totally dry, see how many tickets sell! My advice, ignore the "no booze" rule, but don't be blatant, or spoil other people's day, or....YCC GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“predictable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Attended the Europe's Strongest Man contest last weekend it started off ok ,if not a little exspensive on drinks,only to be told at 3.00 the bar was closed and vodka would not be served from the drinks wagon until 4.00pm??????? dont know why and nobody could explain, we had been buying vodka and rebull from 11.00 am but had to stop 3.00-4.00pm totally baffled,all food and drink predictably exspensive but the venue was fairly clean but the seating was uncomfortable and dated.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit on a summers day to watch England!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went to watch England vs New Zealand on a well I say a summers day more like a boiling hot day in spring! It was a great day but with sunburn occurring but that didn't let the day down. Also another good thing was I was on sky sports which was even better but back to the review.
The seating and stadium is modern with an excellent view all around the stadium. The stadium has no flood lights and this can be a problem on a night cricket match but you don't get many of them. Also another bad point is that you get bags searched and you can only take in SEALED BOTTLES and NO CANS OR OPENED BOTTLES. The pints are £4 which yes is very dear but you are out for the day so enjoy it! But overall you have a great day at cricket!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great day but!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from watching the test on Sunday overall it was a fantastic occasion , the game , the weather and the stadium.
We were sat in the Western terrace which had brilliant leg room better than most football grounds i have been to and also a great view of the pitch.
All day the atmosphere was great with a lot of banter and humour going on , all very well behaved though.That is until late in the day after tea when two large stewards tried to eject a group of lads dressed as power rangers. Nobody knew why , there were lots of families around us no one had been insulted or upset by them in fact quite the opposite, even an off duty policeman tried to reason with the stewards but to no avail.
Eventually two policemen arrived asked us what was going on and eventually calmed the situation down .
The lads were allowed to stay which received huge roars and cheers
The rest of the stewards and staff were brilliant and cannot wait to go again against the Ozzies

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.