We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for test matches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground

Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground
St Michael's Lane, Leeds LS6 3BU, England
0871 971 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 101 attractions in Leeds
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Doncaster
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great for test matches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

love this gorund for England games whether 5 day or 50 over. Easy to reach road or rail & ample parking if latter. Entry can be a bit slow & beer as with all grounds is a bit pricey but I go for the action - views are splendid & seating much improved since revamp - the TV screen & enhanced scroeboard play key role. Will always support this venue along with Trent Bridge & Lords - looking forward to 'new' Old Trafford

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Iconic and hallowed ground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you can differentiate a cricket bat from a fence paling then you already know enough to have a wonderful day out at any local, national or international game that is being held here. Great field of dreams with supurb seating options, must sneak into new Carnegie stand and also dawdle through the vendor stalls. I have enjoyed every visit here no matter if I have been invited into the members or just rolled up on the off chance of a nice afternoon... Book on line or buy at the gate, easy. Cricket Crowds are always, in my experience, passionate but friendly. Crowd chants make the day, spanish waves get tiresome though. All adds to the feeling, typical UK sports venue so be aware of those ugly sub-humans who get too full of booze and think they have suddenly earned a place on the planet. Easily spotted and avoided here though so don't let the odd idiot put you off going to this magical space.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So much fun it made me actually like cricket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Ill be honest, I'm not the biggest Cricket fan, I would go so far as to say that before I went to headingley I would have rather watched paint dry.

But I had a fantastic time, the staff were very kind and courteous, the grounds were immaculate and the punters who came to watch the match were hilarious. I never knew cricket could be so much fun!

the price was very reasonable (went for a 20/20 match) and getting there was very easy on public transport.

I would recommend a day at headingley even if you hate cricket like me.. Promise me it will convert you!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,096 reviews 1,096 reviews
739 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
679 helpful votes 679 helpful votes
“Great ground with a ‘country’ feel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground is located about 20 minutes bus ride out of Leeds. The buses were easy to navigate, so getting to the ground was a breeze. It was just a short walk down from the bus-stop on the main road to get to the gates.
I had to collect my tickets on the first day – no problems and the directions were clear. Staff were excellent – very helpful, patient and courteous. The ground stands are well marked and sections/seats were easy to find.
The stands were not too big, and provided a great view of the ground itself – seemed to be very close to the action. Most of the stands were open, giving the ground a small, ‘country’ feel – very relaxed and casual, compared to some of the big stadiums of today. Just remember to bring some sunscreen – even the weak English sun can burn!
Food and merchandise vendors behind the stands were plentiful, reasonably priced and provided good wares.
Headingley is a world famous cricket ground and has a genuine, relaxed atmosphere all of its own. Sports fans should not miss it!

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground to your Saves list