We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than its ranking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Main Street | Thorner, Leeds LS14 3DE, England
0113 201 7171
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Beehive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #292 of 1,389 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than its ranking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Splendid choice of menu in a lovely setting with quite excellent service. One of our more regular haunts and makes a pleasant change to Italian restaurants etc which abound in the Leeds environ.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    23
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We popped in here just by chance but the food was great. I had a sandwich and it was only a pound to add chips - which were amazing and they gave you a great portion size (we could have shared). I thought the staff were really friendly, but not overly and left us in peace! The food was really great value for money. I think the décor was a little much, but I could see hoe it would totally work on an evening and when it was a bit busier. We would both go back, as all the customers seemed to be enjoying themselves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just had lunch here with friends and we all enjoyed the food and service. I had Steak and Ale pie served with home cooked chips and fresh vegetables and it was all lovely. My friends had the fish pie and the Haddock and chips and they both really enjoyed their meals. Two desserts were ordered and they were both top class. Compliments to the Chef and the barman/waiter Mark. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lacked atmosphere - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Came after trip advisor ratings - haven't been here for 15/20 years so its changed somewhat from a pub to gastro pub, called at Friday lunchtime (valentines day) but only 1 other couple dining so it lacked atmosphere somewhat and was a little cold. The waiter was helpful and friendly, the food was lovely I had Fish, Chips, Peas and my partner had the special Pie - which was lovely too. Drinks were reasonably priced too. Would I visit again - yes just hope its got a little more buzz next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Food, nice ale.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Visited here recently on a recommendation.
We were not disappointed
Food, beer and service was enjoyable.
Only faults were.....1. too full to take advantage of a pudding. 2. Only one real ale available. 3. After dinner coffee slightly cool.
Otherwise, spot on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beehive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.