We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the staff that make it special! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens - Leeds to your Saves list
The Queens - Leeds
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“It's the staff that make it special! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Probably some of the best staff I have seen recently. The Hotel deserves it's 4 star rating and it's great having an entrance within the Railway Station.

The Hotel is decorated and furnished in a faux art deco retro style. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but a bit like staying with an old maiden aunt who hasn't upgraded anything for 50 years.

Breakfast good; room service okay too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Andrew40

Thank you for your lovely review, delighted that the team made your stay most enjoyable, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to them as I am sure they will find them a great source of motivation.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    586
    237
    103
    60
See reviews for
149
642
120
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We booked the Queens for our wedding reception.

Allison was our allocated wedding planner and from the start she was absolutely brilliant. We met with her on several occasions and she was always prompt to respond to my many questions either in person, phone or email.

A few of us stayed at the hotel the night before and we had booked the suite with the balcony on the Q floor, room was amazing.

On the actual wedding day every member of staff were brilliant and the day went so smoothly without a hitch. We cannot thank everyone enough for all the hard work, but a special thanks to Allison, Katy (who ran the day) and David, concierge. If you're looking for a quirky venue or night away, this brilliant hotel is a little bit different and the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear freddiekuu

Firstly, thank you for choosing The Queens to host such a momentous occasion, many congratulations. I was delighted to read you had a wonderful day and thank you too for the kind comments, I will be sure to pass them on to the team.

I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife & I have just concluded 4 nights staying at the Queens Hotel, Leeds. It has been a thoroughly enjoyable experience, that was made all the more memorable by the impeccable attention we received from the concierge service. In particular, the level of service that Dave & Peter gave us was beyond our expectations. Their suggestions of places to eat, attractions in York, as well as car hire were perfect. It is their attention to our needs that made our stay in Leeds so special. Thanks to them we will be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Spozzarooni

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Queens, I was very pleased to read that you had a wondeful stay with us and found the team, particularly concierge to be friendly and helpful. I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to both David and Peter and hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Have stayed at Queens regularly when staying over to work in Leeds. Can't fault the staff, always really friendly and helpful. Rooms of a consistently high standard with good wifi connection. Lovely breakfast, food always seems really fresh and usually a good range of fruit. Overall a really comfy stay, makes working away from home much easier.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear JenK297

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful. I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to them.

I hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were impressed with this hotel, which is surprisingly well priced for such a central location. Its location is brilliant, across the road from City Square, adjacent to train station and right in the thick of the CBD so great for shopping and restaurants. Despite its location, we were not disturbed by any noise. All staff were excellent - friendly attentive and professional, at reception, concierge and breakfast. Our room was compact but comfortable and provided all that we needed. Ensuite was small but contained a bath. Full cooked buffet breakfast was great. We returned to Leeds a week later for another conference and sadly were already booked at another hotel, otherwise we would definitely have returned to The Queens. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear MiddleAgedHippies

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community I was very pleased that you found our excellent central location perfect for your needs. I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team too and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the near future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed on the night of April 30, 2014 ahead of a breakfast event on May 1. The doorman and concierge were great. The concierge who looked after my car called me by name every time he saw me both on the night of my arrival and the following morning.

The breakfast for our event was lovely and my opinion of the hotel is first class.

I regularly stay at The Savoy in London and the Queens' staff are the equal of the Savoy team, if not even a little better.

Every single team member I encountered delivered outstanding customer service and I was blown away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Moz01

Thank you for posting a review of your stay,

On a more positive note I was pleased to read that you found our concierge team to be excellent embassadors for Customer service and will certainly pass on your kind thoughts as I am sure they will be a great source of motivation to them; particularly as you liken them to the Savoy team. Please too that you thoroughly enjoyed breakfast.

I do so hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon, it would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandsworth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for the 1st weekend in May no real issues staff very pleasent but for a 4star hotel lives off a little of the "art deco" theme decor and rooms could be spruced up a little retainnig same features as tired in places.

Rooms are warm aircon does not really work well and unable to open windows. Function was on when I stayed and guests coming back were a little noisey(hotel cant odds that I know)

Overall would not have an issue returning although for value and decor of rooms some of the newer hotels in Leeds might be better at present

Room Tip: Get one away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear WandsworthWomble

Thank you for your constructive review, I was sorry to read that not everything went according to plan and at this late stage can only apologise for the frustrations caused. Please be assured that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality or service and will address the comments raised with our maintenance manager.

I do hope we have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens - Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.