We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens - Leeds to your Saves list
The Queens - Leeds
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

stayed two days, the hotel is in an excellent spot near to station and lots of bus routes that take you all over the local surroundings. Concierge was excellent , and when we got to our room it was immaculate and just as expected when booking. Bed was very comfortable so good nights sleep was insured, and breakfast was freshly cooked and set us up for the day. We had evening meal there the first night and although the menu was limited the food was fresh and cooked well. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Jay H

Thank you for posting your review, delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and very much enjoyed our home comforts. Please visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    658
    258
    114
    67
See reviews for
169
710
129
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had a superb time staying at the Queen's. The decor is fabulous, an Art Deco gem, recalling the glamour of a past age. However, the facilities are bang up to date and my room had everything I needed for a comfy stay, including a lovely bathroom.

The staff are very kind, obliging and efficient, the little door directly in and out of the station is a real plus, and you can't get more central. I'll be back soon - can't wait to ride in those beautiful lifts again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dorienne

Thank you for such a wonderful review, thrilled that you had a superb stay with us and that the team made you feel very welcome, I will be sure to pass on your thoughts as I am sure it will be a great source of motivation to them.

Please visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Queens Hotel on Friday 23rd august for 1 night this was our 3rd stay and again we thoroughly enjoyed it, check in was quick and we were able to go to our room straight away, we stayed in room 510 the room was lovely very big and very clean the bed was comfy and we had a good nights sleep. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help, the service in the bar was second to none.
We had a full English breakfast Saturaday morning which was very tasty.
Thankyou to all at the Queens Hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear gary s

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and had time to sample our legendary breakfast. I do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just come back from 2 night stay with friends. Great location for shops and bars which we'd gone to leeds for. When we arrived our car was taken to be parked and staff booked us in very quickly. Got rooms 520 & 530. These are standard rooms, clean with small bathrooms. Nothing fancy but had a lovely view of the square below. Had a really good nights sleep although had to turn the aircon off as it was extremely noisy. Breakfast was cereals, pastries, fruit and full english and very nice. They don't put a lot out at once so when eggs etc needed replenishing, which was often, there was a little bit of a wait but worth it for lovely fresh food. Staff very good.
The public areas are very nice and the bar area looked plush although we didn't need to use it as a member of staff gave us a brilliant map of Leeds bars and shops. Would recommend going down around Granary Wharf and Canal Wharf on a summer afternoon or evening as it was a great area with a fab atmosphere.(although drinks were a little more expensive)
Would stay here again mainly for the location and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Julie S

Thank you for posting your review, I was pleased to read you very much enjoyed our central location for exploring the city and that the team were very welcoming and helpful. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments.

Do visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I must say the concierge was excellent (the tall stout gentleman)he made me feel at ease as I was meeting someone who I had not seen for a while and I had arrived on my own. His pleasant smile was nice to see when I was on my way out on my date.
The room had to be change do to a leak and this was sorted immediatey (up garded) the only think that was not right was that I was told the mini bar was free but there was on ly one beer in there as a complentary. Otherwise I could not fault anyone and look forward to my next stay. Please pass these comment onto the concierge he will know who I was.Thanks Susan Selby

Room Tip: The first room I was placed in (216)was excellent for people watching and getting great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Susan S

Thank you for your comments, I will certainly be sure to pass on your kind review to our concierge team who I am sure will see it as a great source of motivation. I very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back some time soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this lovely old hotel. Staff were so kind friendly & helpful. Rooms & beds very comfortable. Breakfast staff & food very good. Will definitely recommend to friends and come back in the near future. Thanks .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear CarolynC01

Thank you for posting your review, I was very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and as such will recommend to family and friends. I do hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Dropped in for a quick bite. Went to the bar to order some drinks. Glass that I was served a coke in was dirty. Asked for a st.germain and cranberry. The response was. "What?" It was clearly on the back bar so staff must not know their product. They had no cranberry so they went to look and had none. For a 4* hotel that a pretty basic thing not to have. Ordered a ham hock baguette which took a good 25 minutes considering their were three other people. Eventually it came with a side salad and crisps. I had to go to the bar for cutlery thinking it was self service. The bread was tough as old boots the ham were scrappings and the mustard was almost absent.I noticed a few tables that had been set up for afternoon tea. Upon watching these guests arrive. The waitresses came over within seconds. Brought the drinks to them etc. Checked back on how they were doing food wise. Which came in half the time and must of took longer to make. I left disappointed and after I told my colleague and his response was "what did you go their for, you would of got better at subway. The bills for a gin and tonic a pint of coke and that sandwiches came to almost was well over £20. If anyone from the hotel reads this I think your managers should hire so mystery. diners.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear joelkav88

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive criticism, I would like to assure you that this is by no means our usual standard of quality and service and will certainly look into the comments made. I would like to thank you for taking the time to let me know.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens - Leeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.